Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Need your opinions (Odd Behaviour)

    This is a discussion on Need your opinions (Odd Behaviour) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi.. I've always had a Sky Broadband speed of around 2mb, have done so for around 1-2 years. Decided to ...

    1. #1
      AndyDel's Avatar
      AndyDel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need your opinions (Odd Behaviour)

      Hi..

      I've always had a Sky Broadband speed of around 2mb, have done so for around 1-2 years. Decided to query it as the chap across the road was getting 8mb on Sky. With us both having our lines going to the same pole (I realize this isnt a given that i'll receive 8mb also).

      After going through things with a nice and very helpful chap, he up'd the cap on my line speed.

      Here are my attenuation details before he up'd it..

      DSL Noise Margin: 7.3 dB 13.2 dB
      DSL Attenuation: 60.5 dB 36.3 dB
      DSL Transmit Power: 14.2 dBm 12.6 dBm

      I'm now getting 3.5mb roughly, with the following attenuation details:

      DSL Noise Margin: 7.2 dB 16.0 dB
      DSL Attenuation: 58.0 dB 31.5 dB
      DSL Transmit Power: 17.8 dBm 7.5 dBm

      With the following connection:

      DSL Upstream Rate: 416 Kbps
      DSL Downstream Rate: 3392 Kbps

      What i've found odd though, is my attenuation actually decreased when my connection speed was increased. Even he thought it was odd, so has escalated it to a higher team..

      Anyone know why this may be the case? Isn't the attenuation suppose to increase when forcing the line to a high speed?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Need your opinions (Odd Behaviour)

      Chances are he swapped you from ADSL2 to G.DMT, this usually suits longer lines such as yours and will drop the attenuation by a few db.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need your opinions (Odd Behaviour)

      Simple explanation, you line has been put on G.DMT which reduces the attenuation by 2-4 dbs. It is oftem more stable, thus faster on long lines such as yours.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      AndyDel's Avatar
      AndyDel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need your opinions (Odd Behaviour)

      Ah yes, i have noticed that the mode has changed to:

      DSL Mode: G.DMT

      Thanks for pointing this out chaps, much appreciated!

      Should i expect to see further increases when the higher team looks at it, or is this all i'm likely to achieve. As the chap said my line should be capable of between 4.5-6mb.

      He said my line length was only 3km

    6. #5
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Need your opinions (Odd Behaviour)

      Quote Originally Posted by AndyDel View Post
      Hi..

      I've always had a Sky Broadband speed of around 2mb, have done so for around 1-2 years. Decided to query it as the chap across the road was getting 8mb on Sky. With us both having our lines going to the same pole (I realize this isnt a given that i'll receive 8mb also).

      After going through things with a nice and very helpful chap, he up'd the cap on my line speed.
      If you have more than one phone socket in the house, and have a NTE5 master socket (which has a split across the front panel), I'd suggest trying the router in the test socket behind it to see if the adsl stats improve.

      The difference in speed to you neighbour is most likely down to the condition of the BT phone line, but if you have a BT junction box inside your house that looks like this one http://www.telephonesuk.co.uk/images/BT80A_RF2.jpg from the outside, you might want to open it up and make sure it is not a BT 80a RF2 with the two black inductors inside.

    7. #6
      AndyDel's Avatar
      AndyDel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need your opinions (Odd Behaviour)

      Quote Originally Posted by fuzzy logic View Post
      If you have more than one phone socket in the house, and have a NTE5 master socket (which has a split across the front panel), I'd suggest trying the router in the test socket behind it to see if the adsl stats improve.

      The difference in speed to you neighbour is most likely down to the condition of the BT phone line, but if you have a BT junction box inside your house that looks like this one http://www.telephonesuk.co.uk/images/BT80A_RF2.jpg from the outside, you might want to open it up and make sure it is not a BT 80a RF2 with the two black inductors inside.
      Cheers mate

      Yeah i've been through usual tips and tricks

      Currently plugged in using the test socket in the master, although i have a BT Openworld master.. Which from looking online, has the same functions in regards the bell wire as a BT iPlate.

      I'm just happy to be able to get 1.5mb more.. But with him saying my line should do 4.5-6mb.. I'm hoping for more.. May been optimistic though.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION