Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

    This is a discussion on Can Anyone help with my speed problem please? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. I got connected with skybb on wednesday. I have 8mb unlimited, I was sent a DLink router and everything ...

    1. #1
      DEAGLE's Avatar
      DEAGLE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      Hi. I got connected with skybb on wednesday. I have 8mb unlimited, I was sent a DLink router and everything set up properly. And they router stats show I'm connected at 8128kbps down stream. But when I do a speed test I only get around 1-2 maybe 3000kbps? Ive tried wired and wireless. I even swapped the router to my old sky netgear, but nothing gets the speed up to what it should be. Can anyone suggest anything? I've recently moved and I'm used to having a virgin cable connection. So I don't know much about adsl.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      DEAGLE's Avatar
      DEAGLE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      Here are my stats-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 8 db 2.5 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 27 db


      Thanks

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      You are on the BT Connect package. This has a training period where your Profile is raised according to the condition of your line. Looking at your stats you should have no problems, just resync your router once a day by switching the power off and on, for the first 10 days. This will allow it to reconnect with the exchange and gradually raise your profile.

      You can do an official speed test here - Test Result your username is the LAN MAC address of your router, without the colons, with @skydsl at the end. The last digit is an 'ell'

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      DEAGLE's Avatar
      DEAGLE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      yes your right, im on a bt connect. i have my own router set up now, doesn it matter that im not using the one they sent me during this period?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      As long as you don't have a problem and have to phone Support it should be OK, except, as you probably know, it is against the T & Cs.

      Do an official test and post the full result.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      DEAGLE's Avatar
      DEAGLE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As long as you don't have a problem and have to phone Support it should be OK, except, as you probably know, it is against the T & Cs.

      Do an official test and post the full result.
      ok thanks. im getting an error when i try that test. so ill try again later-

      "The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider."

    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      DEAGLE
      Hi have a look at it has information about the Bt tester Bt Updated Speed Tester To see if your exchange has any ISPs supplying LLU have a look on SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search

    9. #8
      DEAGLE's Avatar
      DEAGLE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      thanks i already know that the exchange has no providers on it. i checked when i was shopping for deals. but its only BT Wholesale. so im paying extra through sky (with a tv and phone package) just tried the test again and it worked. results-

      Download speedachieved during the test was - 2772 Kbps

      For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.

      Additional Information:
      Your DSL Connection Rate :8128 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)

      IP Profile for your line is - 7150 Kbps

      is this ok? will it eventually speed up?

      thanks for all your help

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      Something is wrong. Your IP Profile is already at its maximum so you should be getting 7500kbps on your download speed. This may be a problem with the BT equipment, your router or your PC's settings. To rule out the last, can you boot into Safe Mode with Networking, go to the BT site and do the same test.

      There is also a BT test address which bypasses the Sky network, I can't recall it at the moment, but someone will post it up. This shows whether the problem is with Sky or BT.

      It is also possible you are being 'peak time' throttled by Sky. I don't know if they apply this over the whole weekend or not. Try a Test early tomorrow morning to confirm if this is the problem

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      DEAGLE's Avatar
      DEAGLE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can Anyone help with my speed problem please?

      ok thanks. i have tried off peak, around midnight/1am and its still the same. i know my hardware is all set up correctly, i have a good knowledge of computers. i just dont know much about how ADSL works, as i used to be in a cable area. is there anything i can try??

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION