Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    No router

    This is a discussion on No router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by gw0lgn Sky have now said my router wont arrive and have given me a new tracking number ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: No router

      Quote Originally Posted by gw0lgn View Post
      Sky have now said my router wont arrive and have given me a new tracking number for a different router, suprise suprise its sat in the same distribution centre as the last one, I just hope it's not going to spend 12 days there like the last one. Goes from bad to worse!
      Check it everyday for the next 2 days and if it shows no sign of moving give Sky another call. Royal Snail/ Parcelfarce really are not endearing themselves to anyone this Christmas.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      gw0lgn's Avatar
      gw0lgn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Old Colwyn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: No router

      Quote Originally Posted by fuzzy logic View Post
      If you can get hold of a second hand sky router or even just the details from it required by the password generation site (note the details required depend on the model) , then I think they should work on your sky connection, providing the router hasn't been blacklisted and the login details are not still being used by the previous owner. Even a faulty or bricked one would do, providing it isn't the new d-link model.
      I thought about getting a router off Ebay to do that but didnt know if my account would get blocked for using another persons login details. Both my routers that sky have sent are stuck at Royal Mails distribution centre.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No router

      There is every chance that anything bought from eBay would end up stuck in the same depot. I have bought half a dozen from eBay and all connected. It depends on whether it has actually been scanned into Sky's system or if the original user has been blocked. You can't tell until you try it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: No router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is every chance that anything bought from eBay would end up stuck in the same depot.
      Wouldn't matter if the seller is willing to email the correct details required to generate a username & password (or to extract them off a d-link) before, or instead of posting.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No router

      Quote Originally Posted by fuzzy logic View Post
      Wouldn't matter if the seller is willing to email the correct details required to generate a username & password (or to extract them off a d-link) before, or instead of posting.
      That is true. I have a Sagem for sale and if the OP is willing, I will sell him it and send him the Log on details by email/PM. I will even set it up to access Sky using the latest Sagem firmware. To speed things up I will accept payment by PayPal.
      Routers for Sale
      The DG834GT is sold, I must amend my post.

      Here is the Sagem connected to Sky with the latest firmware. resync changed the IP address so I don't mind it being shown
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails No router-sagem.jpg  
      Last edited by Isitme; 22-12-10 at 10:16 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      gw0lgn's Avatar
      gw0lgn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Old Colwyn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: No router

      Thanks for the help and advice Guys, my router turned up this morning so all is well with the world, had to go to the sorting office, got my router and all my bills for the last 3 weeks thought my letter box had been hadnt been busy.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION