Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    New to sky bb, few questions guys.

    This is a discussion on New to sky bb, few questions guys. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm on the Sky Unlimited deal, the 7.50 one with TV after switching from AOL recently. Only recieved the router ...

    1. #1
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      I'm on the Sky Unlimited deal, the 7.50 one with TV after switching from AOL recently. Only recieved the router yesterday and the line was ''activated'', wondering if anybody can tell me the speed i'm likely to get, and if anything sticks out to you more knowledgeable people. On AOL I got 8192/448 with pretty much the same noise margin as what I have now from memory...

      Copy pasting the stats is probably a bad idea but i'll see if it looks half decent once I post...

      WAN PPPoA 808717 1155989 0 851 17970 21:01:42
      LAN 131518 76261 0 564 284 29:21:41
      WLAN 2446977 1766804 0 28503 2876 20:55:40
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.5db 9.5db
      Noise Margin 15.3db 17.5db

      I haven't removed the bell wires, and i'm using a extention lead so the router is next to the PC downstairs and connected wired. Still don't think my stats are that bad =D

      Secondly, pings. When your line is 'settling' does it effect your ping? I have 60ms at the moment and I do game on the xbox but even with AOL on interleaved setting it was only 45ms max. I understand I can ring or send a email to get my max delays down to 8 but i'll wait till the line settles...

      I don't want to mess too much right now, testing direct to the master socket and cutting bell wires, maybe in the future though...I'm not fussed if I get say 12000 kbps downsteam, or 10000, or even 18000, it's cheaper than the 8192 I got with AOL so anything better than that I'm happy with cuz I could download steady at 800-850kb/s and thats more than enough..

      Thanks in advance guys! If you want more stats etc just ask.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Do yourself a favour and get rid of the extension, this will only hinder you in the future. Get a longer Ethernet cable and have the router in the master
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Does it have that big a impact? I understand extention is almost a derogatory word in these parts =D

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      It can do, the only way you'll know is to move the router. It will be better in the long run, though
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      I'll go for it when DLM does it's buisness. Gonna scrap the old desktop and just go wireless on the lappy and new desktop and xbox...so i'll shove it in the master socket and scrap the extention.

      Any idea on my other questions mate? Most concerning is the ping at 60ms, I know I can do max delays but even AOL/carphone warehouse/god knows gave me a ping of 45ms pretty much round the clock with interleave on..Does the DLM effect it at first? Thought maybe cuz it's checking the line even if it's their end it might add a few ms of ping till it settles...but i'm far from expert.

      My ping is so up and down,

      >ping bbc.co.uk

      Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138] with 32 bytes of data:
      Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=121
      Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=121
      Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=141ms TTL=121
      Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=139ms TTL=121

      Ping statistics for 212.58.224.138:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 56ms, Maximum = 141ms, Average = 98ms

      Sometimes it gets up to 204ms randomly, then back to 60ms, DLM?
      Last edited by zachary; 18-12-10 at 12:44 AM.

    7. #6
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Just checked my stats today, and I got

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16134 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.5db 9.2db
      Noise Margin 7.4db 15.9db

      And speedtest is tesing at 13mb/s down and 0.8mb/s up...Pretty happy with that considering I use a extention lead and no tweaking whatsoever. I'm guessing my downstream won't budge anymore with the 7.4db noise margin but will my Upstream get nearer the 1.3mb/s max? Plenty of room there. Pings are still annoying, hanging around 55ms, 10ms than AOL on interleave but I'll sort the max delays out and plug into the master socket in a few days...

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      You'll find that your delays are already at 8ms - it's likely the extension is causing some errors. Post up your full stats by downloading the program in the following link:

      Mel's Notes: Sky D-Link DSL-2640S Router Password Extractor.

    9. #8
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      How come my delays are at 8ms already? I haven't requested it and I thought you had to battle customer services to strike lucky and find somebody to do it =o

      And when I try get stats it says

      ADSL Stats
      ==========

      fail to ping ;sh /var/m

      I have no idea. =/

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Fairly often delays are set to 8ms by DLM automatically. Remove the extension cable and get the router into the master socket, or the test socket if you have one, and check if the SNRs rise.

    11. #10
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Would it be fine to check anytime or would it interrupt the DLM buisness? I thought in my noob-ness that once you plugged the router in you should leave it because if you unplug/disconnect it seems like my line can't handle it? Seems strange though with the same setup AOL was somehow round the clock pulling 40-45ms on interleave...and thats AOL =D But i'll check the master socket if it's okay tomorrow cuz I just finished a 13 hour shift at work and don't fancy fussing at the moment

      Thanks!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION