Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    New to sky bb, few questions guys.

    This is a discussion on New to sky bb, few questions guys. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by zachary And when I try get stats it says ADSL Stats ========== fail to ping ;sh /var/m ...

    1. #11
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Quote Originally Posted by zachary View Post

      And when I try get stats it says

      ADSL Stats
      ==========

      fail to ping ;sh /var/m

      I have no idea. =/
      The shell exploit has failed for some reason. What firmware version is it? Should be shown on the status page when you open its web interface. It could be that your router has a new version of the firmware which has patched the flaw the program exploits.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      It's firmware version SKY_1.11 if that helps. Any other programs that will list ''advanced'' stats? Thanks again.

    4. #13
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      SKY_1.11 is the version I have, so it would seem that its not that.

    5. #14
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Over 110ms pings! Only 40-45ms on AOL interleave =o Does DLM effect ping? Nothing has changed set up wise..Noise margin went down to 6.6db, lost connection now its back to 7...Speedtest giving me 150ms ping, 3.20 mb/s download and 0.60mb/s upload =/ gay..now 1.30 mb/s download =o

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16257 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.5db 9.2db
      Noise Margin 7.0db 15.8db

    6. #15
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Are you still using the extension? Also, are these speed tests via wireless?

    7. #16
      zachary's Avatar
      zachary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Yeah using extention and wireless through laptop, but...AOL would rain or shine anytime give me 7mb/s download (8m/8192 max speed) with a 40-45ms ping using the same laptop on wireless with the same set up...so while wireless/extention hinders me i don't think ''sky broadband'' can't cope with wireless...it's all the same thing...

      speedtest gone from 1.30mb/s download to 6mb/s download in 2 minutes =/

    8. #17
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New to sky bb, few questions guys.

      Regardless of what AOL was able to give you, something is not right here. Probably a mix between two issues:

      Wireless issue - change the channel on the router from autoscan to another channel, such as 13.

      Probable error build-up issue - get rid of the extension altogether and use the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided.

      Re-test after you've done that and you should be all good.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION