Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    SNR - how low can i go?

    This is a discussion on SNR - how low can i go? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No, provided you are using a filter the voice frequency is filtered out. If you are getting problems with router ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      No, provided you are using a filter the voice frequency is filtered out. If you are getting problems with router noise on the voice line, it may be a faulty filter. Try another one or plug two together.

      The noise margin is there for a purpose, if you lower too much it will cause errors and your Profile will be further reduced.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      northy's Avatar
      northy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01834
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      Thanks isitme.

      I think its just coincidence that the recent heavy rain (and snow) is causing crackling on the line (voice)....which in turn seems to be impacting ADSL. I live in a very rural area with poor lines...so im confident this is the (seperate) issue.

      PS
      Do the errors you spk of (if i lower the SNR too much) get conveyed in any significant way to me in terms of the end user...other than the line drops?
      Essentially if the line doesnt drop and my end user experience isnt impacted, then should i (or anyone) care about any such "errors"?

      Ive tried downloading a few tools to try and see if i get any "errors" but cant get any to work / show anything more than the normal line stats. Im using a flashed NG384g v3.0 updated wtih DGTeam firmware.

      When i first updated the firm ware i got a 2gb synch (up from about 1.4), and with tweaks could even extend beyond that...but since then (with the terrible weather...coinicedence?) the synch rate fluctuates a lot....

      Cheers again

    4. #13
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      You can get detailed statistics using that router to find out any errors etc

    5. #14
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      Internet Software

      The link above will give you the statistics for your line ....
      download the program and then set it up and you will be able to see your stats

    6. #15
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      Quote Originally Posted by northy View Post
      PS
      Do the errors you spk of (if i lower the SNR too much) get conveyed in any significant way to me in terms of the end user...other than the line drops?
      Essentially if the line doesnt drop and my end user experience isnt impacted, then should i (or anyone) care about any such "errors"?
      Errors result in packet loss, except for RScorr /fec errors. If you are on Sky connect, then BT's DLM system will raise the target noise margin if it detects a high rate of errors, and I gather it can be slow to reduce it again if the error rates fall. The maximum target margin used to be 15dB, but I'm not sure if it still is, and I gather that the DGteam firmware may only provide a -6dB adjustment(?), although it is possible to go lower using the adslctl command directly.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      Quote Originally Posted by northy View Post

      PS
      Do the errors you spk of (if i lower the SNR too much) get conveyed in any significant way to me in terms of the end user...other than the line drops?
      Essentially if the line doesnt drop and my end user experience isnt impacted, then should i (or anyone) care about any such "errors"?
      The errors, Cyclic Redundancy Checks in particular, can slow you actual throughput considerably. CRC errors mean the data has to be resent, so although you may be syncing at 2Mb, your actual speed may be more equivalent to a sync of much less than that. A sync of 2Mb with a lot of errors could be slower than a sync of 1.4Mb with no errors.

      Your biggest problem is that you are on Connect, which even with a perfect line, is a dire experience at peak times.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      northy's Avatar
      northy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01834
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      Thanks for all the feedback

      I cant see where i see the degree of CRC errors....on the router stats page? I have also installed "routerstats" but cant see where these are recorded?

      PS
      I think i need to find a new ISP as well
      Any suggestions - NON LLU, rural 5km from exch, 1.5mb speed, reliable with no or very little capping? Plusnet do a 60gb which at least beats connect. Any other recommendations??

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      Routerstats Lite which I use, does not have an errors section. Perhaps Boothy can tell you where to find them on the full version.

      You could do a lot worse than Plusnet, who although they throttle, are up front about it. They also have a better relationship with BT (their owner) so are able to do more about line faults etc than Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: SNR - how low can i go?

      Quote Originally Posted by northy View Post
      Thanks for all the feedback

      I cant see where i see the degree of CRC errors....on the router stats page? I have also installed "routerstats" but cant see where these are recorded?

      PS
      I think i need to find a new ISP as well
      Any suggestions - NON LLU, rural 5km from exch, 1.5mb speed, reliable with no or very little capping? Plusnet do a 60gb which at least beats connect. Any other recommendations??
      If the router is a dg834g V3, then you could enable telnet, and use a telnet client such as putty or the windows XP telnet client to access the router and type in the following shell comand:-

      cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_modem_stats

      Alternatively, you could try the detailed stats link here:- Mel's Notes: Netgear DG834G but it probably won't work with the dgteam firmware.

      I can't remember exactly what details it reports as its a long time since I used a dg834g router probably includes HEC errors etc though.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION