Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

At the end of my tether already (disconnects, slow speeds)

This is a discussion on At the end of my tether already (disconnects, slow speeds) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OK, as the name suggests - I'm not a natural techie so please put answers in blonde-proof terms! Just got ...

dizziblonde is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

At the end of my tether already (disconnects, slow speeds)

OK, as the name suggests - I'm not a natural techie so please put answers in blonde-proof terms!

Just got Sky since we moved out of rented accomodation so can actually choose what services we get a lot more than before. TV's fine, broadband is driving me to utter distraction.

Sagem router - filters on everywhere there should be, PCs have previously run happily wirelessed for years without any problems. Speed was good - cracking along at about 9meg, but constant connection dropouts between PCs and the wireless. Tried moving the router, tried moving the PCs as much as possible - no fix there. Tried switching wireless channels to avoid interference with other stuff around - which reduced the problem to peak times only but still an unuseable connection at that time of day. Then used that inSSIDer to find a clear channel and tried again - now have disgustingly slow speeds of 1meg, and have yet to see if the dropouts will start at about 4pm like they have the last few days.