Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

    This is a discussion on Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello I'm thinking about pulling the trigger and moving us over to Sky and am trying to understand the likely ...

    1. #1
      goosee's Avatar
      goosee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneygate
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      Hello

      I'm thinking about pulling the trigger and moving us over to Sky and am trying to understand the likely speeds we'd see on a Sky Unlimited Broadband connection. Current ISP is Tesco, which is piggybacking on the awful Virgin National service. I have a few layman's queries, if I may...

      We're connecting to the Stoneygate Exchange (Sky LLU available) at an approximate distance away of 1.2km. Sky's website predicts a connection speed of around 3.5Mbps.

      How is that speed calculated and is it unique to Sky as an ISP or is that the speed we'd likely see with any other ISP?

      Also, when I look at my router stats, are they relevant to my line regardless of ISP, or are they dictated by the fact that we're currently with Teso Broadband? i.e. is there any use in me taking my current (Tesco) stats into account when thinking about Sky, or would they change once the Sky connection is enabled with a different router?

      Finally, if I do go forward with Sky and end up with a connection of around 3.5mbps, are there any likjely upgrades on the horizon, which might automatically improve that? ADSL2+ is due to arrive at Stoneygate in Jan 2011, but I understand this will likely only be available to BT customers.

      Many thanks for any answers you can provide - I'm sure these are pretty basic queries. I'd be happy to provide further info as needed.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      goosee's Avatar
      goosee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneygate
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      For what it's worth, stats from my current router:

      Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3776 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 23 db 8 db

      (I think!)

    4. #3
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      goosee
      Hi Sky LLU is ADSL2+ If you put in your Attenuation on the link and it will give you some idea of the speed you will get SkyUser - Potential ADSL2 Line Speed Checker & Calculator

    5. #4
      goosee's Avatar
      goosee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneygate
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      Thanks. That link is suggesting speeds of between 12 and 14 Mbps, based on my current attenuation.

      Is that, therefore, the likely speed I could expect from January? Would Sky apply this automatically?

      Sort of the same question again, but for clarity, is it therefore true that as soon as the Stoneygate exchange becomes ADSL2+ enabled in January, my Sky connection would be too?

      Also, in light of all of this, where is Sky generating their 3.5 Mbps prediction from?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      You are being robbed at the moment, you should have 8Mb, the maximum for the type of connection you are on. With a noise margin of 23 you are very heavily capped. On ADSL2+ with Sky you should see 10-12+Mb.

      Just seen your last post, the checker you used considers a perfect line. Also your attenuation will increase to 34-35dbs when moved to ADSL2+, so you will not get as much as the checker suggests with your present figure.

      Goodness knows where Sky get that estimate from, they always keeps themselves on the safe side, but that is ridiculous.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      goosee
      Hi the thing is you are on a Bt rebadged product the upstream of 448kbps is the give away. and high Downstream Noise Margin.That could be the reason Sky under estimated the connection speed. Sky already have their own equipment in the Stoneygate exchange so it is already Sky ADSL2+ enabled.

    8. #7
      goosee's Avatar
      goosee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneygate
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      Ok - gotcha. So the speed's already there, I just need the switch to Sky to take advantage of it.

      I'm intending to retain my BT line, and pay line-rental only, paying Sky for the broadband and calls package. Presumably that won't affect things..?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      That is the best way to do it in my opinion.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      goosee
      Hi The only thing that you must make sure of is that you are put on one of Sky`s own packages which are Sky Broadband - Broadband and Wireless Offers - Buy Online Not the Connect package.

    11. #10
      goosee's Avatar
      goosee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoneygate
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Broadband Speed Query

      Thanks for the feed back so far. A strange issue has arisen...

      Until today, Sky's test was showing consistently an estimate of 3.5Mbps for our line.

      This evening the test has shown '10-20', 3, and 0.5 at different points.

      The router stats have not changed - they're identical to those I posted above.

      I called Sky to put this to them amongst other things and they ran a test from their end showing the line could support a maximum of only 2 Mbps.

      Is there any obvious reason for this? The Sky guy was insistent that 2Mbps would be the maximum speed we could get.

      Does this indicate a possible line fault, or something else? As I say the router stats are identical.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION