Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router 'Connection timed out' within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had Sky broadband for approx 2 weeks now, and everything up until yesterday was fine. However, as of yesterday, ...

    1. #1
      lukekarts's Avatar
      lukekarts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      I've had Sky broadband for approx 2 weeks now, and everything up until yesterday was fine.

      However, as of yesterday, the wireless connection seems to freeze - my laptop, phone, and sisters laptop (Macbook, iPhone, Dell notebook) all remain connected to the wireless but the internet appears to stop working. It still works on the windows pc plugged in via ethernet.

      The problem isn't consistent - sometimes it happens after 5 mins, sometimes after several hours. When I go into my wifi settings, I am prompted to re-enter the network password, and when I do, it says 'connection timeout'.

      Re-starting my laptop doesn't help - it then refuses to connect to the network automatically, and I get the same fault as above when asked to re-enter my password.

      What does fix it, is restarting the router, but the problem comes back after a few hours.

      The router is on default settings.

      What could be the cause or solution?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      Log into the router settings page via your ethernet connected system. Go to 'settings' in the top left and change the channel from auto to something else. Apply and monitor whether there is any improvement.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      lukekarts (16-12-10)

    5. #3
      lukekarts's Avatar
      lukekarts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      Thanks - will give that a go and let you know what happens.

    6. #4
      lukekarts's Avatar
      lukekarts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      Ok, unfortunately it's still happening

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      Try channel 13.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      lukekarts (16-12-10)

    9. #6
      lukekarts's Avatar
      lukekarts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      Thanks for the help guys. I changed the channel to 6, and *touch-wood* the problem hasn't return.

      Any reason why it would keep hanging on other channels?

      To my knowledge there are no other wifi networks nearby.

    10. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      To my knowledge there are no other wifi networks nearby.
      Download Inssider from the link below and check what is in use in your area.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #8
      Coey's Avatar
      Coey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02380
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      Can anyone help I have a Asus laptop that connects to the Internet fine my iPad connects fine but my Sony vaio NR38E/S will not connect wireless only through a cable and its been bugging me for ages and rather not let my laptop sit there and do nothing im hoping someone can help me resolve the problem can anyone help as it's never worked always say WIRELESS AUTHENTICATION FAILED BECAUSE OF A TIMEOUT.

      Thanks guys/girls a step by step guild would be great

    12. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      Have you run through the suggestions above?

      i.e. using inSSIDer to see which WiFi channel is the best to use in your area and changing it on your router

      If you have and it still isn't working, then which firmware version do you have on the Sagem 2304n router?

      Which o/s do you have on the Sony Vaio?

      Have you checked that everything has been updated on the Sony (M$ windows, Hardware drivers)? Do check the Sony website as well for any updates.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router 'Connection timed out'

      Some things to try.
      Go into the router wireless settings and disable the Security, try to connect.

      Enter the router settings and make sure the encryption is set to WPA only. Your adapter may not be able to handle higher.

      Start in Safe Mode with Networking and try to connect. This just checks that software on your lappy is not stopping the connection.

      Go to Sony support and download and install the latest drivers for your laptop. http://support.vaio.sony.eu/computin...aspx?old=y&m=0
      Get updates for the chipset and wireless adapter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION