Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Orange UMA

    This is a discussion on Orange UMA within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, First post, wish me luck! I work in IT for a large-ish company. We've had an issue with ...

    1. #1
      johnbevan79's Avatar
      johnbevan79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yeovil
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Orange UMA

      Hi All,

      First post, wish me luck!

      I work in IT for a large-ish company. We've had an issue with our Orange blackberry handsets on Sky Broadband.

      The devices will connect to the WiFi, but will not get UMA (They state a DNS error in the WiFi diags). We've tried changing the router to a Netgear DG834Gv3 using guidance found on this forum for getting the username/password and also tried putting openDNS servers in instead of Sky's.

      From reading the forums it appears that users are able to get these working, just wondering if we're missing anything? I really don't want to have to go down the route of putting a second broadband line in just for this at the users premesis....

      Any help that you all can offer would be greatly appreciated.

      Many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Orange UMA

      So you're running business off a consumer BB service??

      Can't say I've had issues connecting my phone(s) in the past using a Sky router, and my GFs BlackBerry Curve 8900 connects fine on my parents Netgear DG934
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Orange UMA

      Both mine and my daughters Blackberry's connect fine via our Sky router, I assume that your phones are using BB enterprise server, I wonder if this is where the problem is?

    5. #4
      johnbevan79's Avatar
      johnbevan79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yeovil
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Orange UMA

      Hi all,

      Thanks for the response.

      Yes we're running BES and have used 8520's 8820's and 8900's on UMA with other routers with our own ISP and others (BT, AOL etc).

      This particular user is unable to install a company broadband, hence attempting to utilise the Sky router - just weird that the particular handset works on other ISP's, but doesn't seem to like Sky

      Sounds like it's back to Orange.

      Thanks all.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Orange UMA

      Several Blackberry users have reported problems with connecting to the Dlink router. Is this the case here?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      johnbevan79's Avatar
      johnbevan79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yeovil
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Orange UMA

      Hi Isitme,

      Yes this is the case, although having issues connecting to a DG834Gv3 also.

      Thanks.

    8. #7
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Orange UMA

      update the BB firmware, also in wireless thers a setting for data roaming i think. try that, if not give it manual settings
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION