Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Speed Check

    This is a discussion on Speed Check within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good day all, I'm new to this forum and would like any observations on my Sky Broadband stats and wether ...

    1. #1
      lunchbox's Avatar
      lunchbox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed Check

      Good day all,

      I'm new to this forum and would like any observations on my Sky Broadband stats and wether the speed I have is correct?

      Connection Speed: DN 10236Kbps UP 926kbps
      Line Attenuation: DN 21.5db UP 10.1db
      Noise Margin: DN 11.8db UP 8.0db

      Would you say the speed that Sky has set is correct? I would have expected higher more towards 16/18 or am I just been hopeful?

      Thanks,
      R


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Speed Check

      With your existing noise margin you should be able to get another couple of Mb, but it should do better. Plug into your Test socket, using only the ADSL cable and filter supplied by Sky and post your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      lunchbox's Avatar
      lunchbox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Check

      Thanks for the reply.

      I plugged into the master socket last night with just the Sky filters and cable and the figures stay the same, there was maybe a .1 difference.

      But I did think that 10meg was a bit low for the line stats. I have emailed Sky Broadband and requested they double check the set figures.

      Thanks,

      R

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Speed Check

      I plugged into the master socket
      Do you mean the Test socket? It would be unusual to see little difference if you have more than one phone socket in your house. If you only have one socket, that is normal.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      lunchbox's Avatar
      lunchbox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Check

      Indeed it was the Test Socket, sorry!

      We moved flats and we had BT install a new line with a new Master Socket. So the cable from the poll to the socket is all new.

      There is only one socket, which is the new one that BT installed.

      Thanks,

      R

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Speed Check

      If you only have one socket there is not much you can do. Plug it into the Test socket again(Sky usually ask you to do this) use another filter and phone Sky. Ask them to reconfigure your line as DLM has left it with a low speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      lunchbox (30-11-10)

    9. #7
      lunchbox's Avatar
      lunchbox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Check

      Thanks for the info sir.

      I shall do as you recommend.

      Thanks,

      R

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION