Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 58

    New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

    This is a discussion on New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Been through to sky support and they said my latency cannot be lowered , its already at its lowest thats ...

    1. #41
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Been through to sky support and they said my latency cannot be lowered , its already at its lowest thats 40ms+ and my download cannot go higher than 5020 and my upload cannot go higher than 800+ , when it has been higher than that what the hell


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5023 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db

      clearly room for more on the upload ...
      not happy!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      You got through to someone who doesn't have a clue and/or doesn't have access to actually reconfigure line settings. Call back and hopefully it'll get to someone who can change the line code to g.dmt and uncap the upstream from 800kbps...

    4. #43
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Why would i want it on G.dmt, is it better than ADSL2+ from what ive read, i thought ADSL2+ was better, thanks for the reply user05!

    5. #44
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      It depends on the line. I'd hazard a bet that yours would perform better on g.dmt. We're not talking huge differences, but back to the 5.5mbps you had previously would be a possibility and also more stability, which will lead to less errors, which will in turn possibly decrease latency and increase throughput.

      You still have a good bit of room on the upstream anyway, so a call to get that uncapped would be the next step. Whilst you're on the phone, you could ask whoever you're talking to if they wouldn't mind trying your line code on g.dmt and checking what your delays are at also.

    6. #45
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Hmm, yeah what should i say if the person on the phone says it isnt possible? askto be put through to CST or? thanks lewis

    7. #46
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      You could ask to be put through, but CST typically will only take cases that have been open for 72+ hours. It's only a two minute job, though. If you got through to someone who is a little less 'procedural' than most, then I see no reason why they can't call through to CST to have it done real quick. It's one of those 'ring up and hope for the best' scenarios I guess. Worst case scenario - it'll be done in 72 hours.

    8. #47
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      haha okay mate, and i just used my tested my talktalk router on G.dmt, and it synced the full 5024/800 haha, and pings were 5ms lower than on sky router ! and if on speedtest im getting 44ms to manchester (where i live) and on command prompt i ping bbc.co.uk and im gettin 31 ms, are max delays on 8ms do you think? , but on talktalk i was on 19-27ms on speedtest, not sure about the command prompt though Thanks again user05!

    9. #48
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      What are the SNRs when you forced the change to g.dmt?

      If you're pinging bbc at 31ms, then you're definitely at 8ms delays. Talk-talk offer fastpath profiles I believe, whereas Sky don't. You were probably likely on fastpath previously with Talk-talk.

      No probs.

    10. #49
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Somewhere you are loosing 2-3 Mb on your sync speed. Until you try your TEST socket there is no way to know if it is an internal or external issue.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #50
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Okay guys i phoned up today, the max delays was on 32ms, and its been put on 8ms now which is good I tested the normal socket and the stats were the same, the man said it was capped at 5024/800 because it was stable which i did agree with him on and understood why and it was already on G.dmt with the 5024/800 cap, he just removed the cap and lowered the upload noise and speeds risen.

      This is at extension socket as i need it there but the main socket was just the same tbh, it is on G.dmt atm as the man said its more stable, he tried a ADSL2+ and said the errors have increased, over a 1000 in minutes, but with ADSL2+ i was on 5600 down and 920 up, ah well im happy now, pinging at 26ms on speed test now and 21ms on command prompt to bbc so im really happy now here are the current stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5376 kbps 864 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 9.0 db

      thanks to you guys for the fantastic opnions and support, yous should get payed! thanks lewis

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION