Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 58

    New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

    This is a discussion on New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It is important, but don't forget, some users on BTMAX (Plusnet for instance) game successfully with a 448kbps upload. Remember ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      It is important, but don't forget, some users on BTMAX (Plusnet for instance) game successfully with a 448kbps upload.

      Remember you still have to check in your Test socket, that may change things completely in your favour.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Alright thanks guys, if the setting change, ill post the stats here, and when i get round to it, i will post the stats as of the test socket thanks
      lewis

    4. #23
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Stats havent changed significantly and i have noticed that me upload syncs at 945 everytime , here are the current stats, DLM hasnt changed the SNR or anything over the past 3 days..:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5447 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.5 db 25.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.5 db 12.1 db

      The upload should go higher but how do i go about it ? , Should i just phone sky and get it all sorted to the best of its ability or wait through the DLM process then do that?
      And also is there a fastpath rather than being on interleaved, i know about max delay, is that fast path or just minimising the inteleaved effect?
      thanks lewis

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      I would still advise you to try your Test socket before you phone Sky. If your figures haven't moved for a couple of days, DLM may be complete.

      Sky don't do Fastpath.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      okidokie thanks

    7. #26
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Hmm i tested it in the master socket and its more or less the same, however about 2 hours ago around 12:30, i saw the downstream noise go to 3.6db , what could that be? whilst its on the extension socket btw

      here is the stats of the master socket:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5020 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 16.2 db

    8. #27
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Extension leads are no good for ADSL, you can really impact your speeds and stability by not connecting to your main socket. Are those stats from the main socket or from your test socket (if you have one)?

    9. #28
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      they are from the main socket, the test socket is when you take the faceplate off isn't it?, whats the difference? its the same socket but testing at the master socket eliminated problems with the other 2 which the broadband has to travel through to get to my room
      thanks lewis

    10. #29
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      By removing the faceplate to expose the TEST socket, you isolate it for the rest of the house wiring, this means that you get the best connection possible without any further interference from your other sockets and wires.

      If there is a difference in the stats from one to the other then it will show you have wiring issues to deal with.

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Remove the faceplate, plug into the Test socket using only the filter and ADSL cable supplied by Sky and post your stats. With a good external line you could see 7-8Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION