Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 58

    New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

    This is a discussion on New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I say use only the cable supplied by Sky as some have used an enormous telephone extension and wonder what ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      I say use only the cable supplied by Sky as some have used an enormous telephone extension and wonder what is wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Ok thanks, What can i do about my ping times if you dont mind me asking, sorry if im bugging now or anything, i get above 60ms all the time, even to the nearest location :/ , can i have ping times lowered?
      Thanks Lewis

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Yes, by phoning Sky and asking for your Delay to be reduced. It is probably better to leave this till DLM is complete.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Alright, thanks alot for all your help, ill post stats on here later this week thanks again
      Lewis

    6. #15
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      update, 2nd day of DLM , stats go as:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5575 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 11.4 db

      gone up quite a bit, i hope they push it above 6 meg or is this unlikely do you reckon?

      And what about upload, reckon it could get above 1000? , and is noise margin the SNR margin or?
      Thanks Lewis

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Upload over 1Mbps easily, downstream not a lot more as it stands
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Thanks mate, How would i go about of getting the upload over 1Mbps, if the noise margin on upload goes to around 6, would this increase it? , and how come not much more from the download, what are you looking at, the noise margin ??
      Thanks Lewis

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Yes it would, to a maximum of 1.3Mbps

      It's the same for downstream, the line will give the most speed it can with adefault noise margin of 7db (Sky's lowest SNR setting)

      As for downstream, same thing - you get the best speed you can with an SNR of around 7db. You're near there already so not a lot more to be had
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      Lewis999's Avatar
      Lewis999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Dam, but for gaming, upload is more important right, i hope so ,

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New to sky, check of speed (still in DLM)

      Upload and ping time
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION