Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

    This is a discussion on Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So, since this morning. I haven't been able to connect to the net at all, I've used the offical router ...

    1. #1
      littledude565's Avatar
      littledude565 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      So, since this morning. I haven't been able to connect to the net at all, I've used the offical router and my own one (both with the saem dg834g firmware) and still no luck =/
      I keep getting the DNS error and a CHAP authentication failure, And i was just wondering if anyone knew how to fix it. Or if anyone in th Merton Park exchange is also having this problem?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      Have you had a look at the Sky Status page - Sky Service Status - Home

      If there is no mention there, call Sky support and ask if there is a problem in your exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      littledude565's Avatar
      littledude565 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      Thanks for the reply, I've had a look at that page a few times and the areas that are down are not near me. And I did phone them up earlier 3 times, two hours ago and they didn't mention anything about it. Only made me do pointless things that i already thought to try

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      Only other thing I could think of is a suspended router, how are you online now?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      littledude565's Avatar
      littledude565 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      Would they suspend both routers at the same time :S
      Also, would they not tell me that on the phone when i rang them? And I'm online now by teathering my phone and using it as a modem, gotta love the unlimited web n walk

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      They suspended the username/password - not the router - so if you've used a 3rd party one with the same logins then they could very well suspend it...and depending on who you spoke to they don't always check if you're suspended
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      littledude565's Avatar
      littledude565 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      Oh right...that would explain a lot.
      How long is the suspension usually? And can i get unsuspended?

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      It depends on why you've been suspended, might be a virus has been detected so you'd need to prove it's been cleared before they remove the suspension. Might be a billing issue

      Call and find out
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is anyone in the merton exchange able to get online?

      Have you looked at your mail on line? There may be a message there from Sky. Just because your account has been suspended does not mean they will not send messages to it.

      Do you have a friend with a Sky router? If so, see if you can borrow it for a short time, plug it in and see if it works. If you get the same message, then your router is not banned, if it connects your will have to find out why your own details are being rejected.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION