Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So do you have more than one socket on the line? If so you may just need to check the ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      So do you have more than one socket on the line? If so you may just need to check the wiring on the sockets as it may be that causing the issue.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      You've now been changed to GDMT, but all that does is make it more obvious you've got a severe line issue
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      quish's Avatar
      quish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      3 sockets total in the house. Just going to wait until the dlm is complete and then ring sky if nothing changes, worst comes to worst I'll just switch back to Virgin media and rid myself of all the stats garbage.

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      OR you'll find out the issue is somewhere on the line and with a little time can be sorted
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      quish's Avatar
      quish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      Wouldn't know where to start with it, and considering I already have a virgin system installed which I know is flawless, would be quicker to just switch back. I just didn't expect all this when I came to Sky, Just assumed it'd be the same speed etc.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      Just going to wait until the dlm is complete and then ring sky if nothing changes
      DLM can take up to 13 days to complete after activation. Nothing is going to change on its own, you have to ensure that your extension wiring, which you said you didn't have, is not dragging your speed down. If you are not going to work on it, you would be as well cancelling now, the most you can expect as you are is 6+Mb, about half of what you could have.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      quish's Avatar
      quish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      I see, so are you saying that even with DLM running its course, I pretty much have as much speed as i'm going to get? and a line reset by Sky wont make a difference? Also, Will it revert back to adsl2+ on it's own? or am I stuck with GDMT until I ring them?

      Thanks! =)

    9. #18
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      Quote Originally Posted by quish View Post
      I see, so are you saying that even with DLM running its course, I pretty much have as much speed as i'm going to get? and a line reset by Sky wont make a difference? Also, Will it revert back to adsl2+ on it's own? or am I stuck with GDMT until I ring them?

      Thanks! =)
      Your poor speed is quite likely due to your telephone extensions (regardless of whether anything is plugged into them or not, or which socket the router is plugged in to). Unless you've disconnected it, the ring tends to be the biggest culprit, as it injects noise onto your phone line, trashing the signal to noise ratio and therefore significantly limiting the connection speed. e.g. see the SNR graphs here :- Phil's corner: August 2005 Star wired extensions may also have some impact on ADSL2+ connections.

      Also see ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::

      There's little point in phoning Sky before sorting the extensions.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      Fit an NTE5 master socket, NTE5 BT Openreach Type Socket (NTE5A with bellwire filter) and fit and use a filtered faceplate BT NTE-2000 ADSL Faceplate for NTE5 and I think most of your problems will be over.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      quish's Avatar
      quish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Rocky Start :/

      Rang Sky and they said DLM had stopped and I was capped, they reset it and said DLM will run again for the next 10 days.

      My new stats;

      Router Statistics System Up Time: 00:15:20

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3257 4996 0 621 14225 00:08:10
      LAN 24157 17989 0 25015 2327 00:15:20
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5600 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5db 17.4db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 13.0db

      Already a lot higher from the word go. =)
      Last edited by quish; 22-11-10 at 12:07 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION