Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

    This is a discussion on Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Don't really know how to inspect the ports on the wall? Unscrew the faceplate and have a look at what ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      Don't really know how to inspect the ports on the wall?
      Unscrew the faceplate and have a look at what is wired to each pin. (photo)

      I think you could do with some assistance from Dave of Runitdirect. Maybe he will pop in and give some advice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      harry20larry's Avatar
      harry20larry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      thanks for all the help guys, will try to unscrew the faceplate and have a look tonight. What am I looking for.
      Also, could I call BT Openreach to help me out for free?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      Unless BTO fitted the wiring, they will do nothing for nothing.

      Just take a photo and post it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      Post up a pic of the rear of the wall outlet, there are two wirings standards, 568A & 568B, the only difference is the Orange & Greens are swapped over(that is what a cross over cable does, it does NOT simply reverse each wire!). If someone has wired each standard at each end it would not work until you use a cross over cable to reverse it back!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #15
      harry20larry's Avatar
      harry20larry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      Took off the wall socket and interesting thing were found:
      The wiring order looks like (from top left down, then from top right down): BL/W, OR/W, BR/W, BR, BL, OR, GR/W, GR.
      However, the labeled order on the card insert is (from top left down, then from top right down): BR, BR/W, BL/W, BL, GR, GR/W, OR, OR/W

      Thoughts?


    7. #16
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      Doesn't look right to me at all, can you see any markings about 568A/B anywhere? What can happen is the panel is wired for 568A(or vice versa) and the modules are marked up for 568B(or vice versa again!), so, you end up with the module looking miswired. HOWEVER, that should only be the greens & oranges swapped over. Yours does not look right at all, do we know if this wiring has EVER worked?(for DATA, NOT phones).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #17
      harry20larry's Avatar
      harry20larry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Doesn't look right to me at all, can you see any markings about 568A/B anywhere? What can happen is the panel is wired for 568A(or vice versa) and the modules are marked up for 568B(or vice versa again!), so, you end up with the module looking miswired. HOWEVER, that should only be the greens & oranges swapped over. Yours does not look right at all, do we know if this wiring has EVER worked?(for DATA, NOT phones).
      Last owner said that he just used a single wireless router to cover the whole house, I think it was wireless n. However, since sky force you to use their proprietary router, wireless g, it doesn't reach. I have tried connect my old wireless n router in tandem and it works however, signal is not great in the areas of the house we need it most. So would really like these Ports to work.

    9. #18
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      I personally would try re wiring one to the code on the label, if it doesn't work the swap the greens & oranges over. You seem to have one of the blue pair going to green & the other going to brown! IDC tool.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      I would agree with that, there seems little point in colour coding the modules if it isn't followed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      harry20larry's Avatar
      harry20larry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Sky Router to Home Wiring

      asked my friend if i could borrow his tool.
      Can you use the tool to remove the copper end from the teeth, I have only every set up one, never modify. If not, I don't really want to strip the wire back too much otherwise wire will be too short!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION