Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Contacted Sky about speed - common procedure?

    This is a discussion on Contacted Sky about speed - common procedure? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I didn't thing G.dmt showed the attenuation over 63 or with half numbers etc....

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Contacted Sky about speed - common procedure?

      I didn't thing G.dmt showed the attenuation over 63 or with half numbers etc.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Contacted Sky about speed - common procedure?

      63.5dB is the highest it'll show on g.dmt. Easiest way to tell if it is g.dmt is if both the downstream and upstream are divisible by 32. There are a few exceptions, but it generally is a good way to tell.

    4. #13
      rowzee's Avatar
      rowzee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Contacted Sky about speed - common procedure?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      63.5dB is the highest it'll show on g.dmt. Easiest way to tell if it is g.dmt is if both the downstream and upstream are divisible by 32. There are a few exceptions, but it generally is a good way to tell.
      The speeds were exactly the same on adsl2, switching to g.dmt didn't have an apparent effect (maybe on line attentuation, but I didn't check).

      And what exactly do you mean by capped? My Sky online account says that my speed limit has been set to 4.0/0.5 Mbit, while those on the router are obviously lower. The guy in the CST tried to increase the speeds a few times, and of course I don't know the details of what it involves. Is it just setting higher limits and see how the line is coping or what?

      After the first tweak, the speeds were 1906/252. I asked him to try and increase the upload after which it settled to 1856/608, this was all on adsl2 mind, after which I asked him if switching to g.dmt would improve anything. He then switched it and we agreed to keep it as there were no apparent change.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Contacted Sky about speed - common procedure?

      My Sky online account says that my speed limit has been set to 4.0/0.5 Mbit
      There is no way you would get 4Mb with an attenuation of 68dbs, so something has gone far wrong. As User05, pointed out 1856/608 are figures for G.DMT, so he has switched you before you asked. With your line length that is not a bad speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      rowzee's Avatar
      rowzee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Contacted Sky about speed - common procedure?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is no way you would get 4Mb with an attenuation of 68dbs, so something has gone far wrong. As User05, pointed out 1856/608 are figures for G.DMT, so he has switched you before you asked. With your line length that is not a bad speed.
      I acknowledge that it is not a realistic speed, the 4.0/0.5Mbit is just the maximum cap, so I don't think there's anything wrong. What's interesting, how come my upload exceeds this cap at 608?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION