Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

    This is a discussion on Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I *think* I am on the Sky Unlimited Package (took it all out as a Package deal for SkyTV, Telephone ...

    1. #1
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced (MOVED)

      I *think* I am on the Sky Unlimited Package (took it all out as a Package deal for SkyTV, Telephone and Broadband around 2 or more years ago), although I do remember when signing up there were options for Base, Mid and Max. I paid the extra to get the highest available, which I remember was up to 10 mbs. Are "Unlimited" and "Max" something totally different?

      I have checked my exchange with Samknows and it tells me that it has been LLU'd for nearly 3 years though.



      The issue however is dropping speeds (sadly the same as many others). Have read many of the other threads, and until a couple of days ago was getting my usual speeds, around 7150 kbps Downstream and 768 kbps Upstream.

      Nothing has changed on my end, but within the last couple of days the downstream has slowed down considerably.


      Here are the Router Statistics from my Sky router if anyone can suggest anything:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream

      Connection Speed 4544 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 14.0 db



      As is obvious from above, I've lost around 2500kbps-ish downstream. On the other hand Upstream is unaffected.

      Tried changing Microfilters, leaving telephone unplugged, tried the test socket - nothing changes.

      The connection is directly into the main phone socket by the way and always has been - as mentioned, nothing has changed on my side.


      Is the Line Attenuation db too high? (No idea what it was before).

      Ideas anyone?
      Last edited by ufo; 18-11-10 at 03:30 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      Quote Originally Posted by ufo View Post
      Tried changing Microfilters, leaving telephone unplugged, tried the test socket - nothing changes.
      Did the noise margin(s) increase when you plugged into the test socket?

      Plug the router back into the test socket using only a filter and the short grey dsl cable Sky supplied. Also, check your landline and confirm whether you can hear any noise present i.e. crackles/whistles/static/popping.

    4. #3
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      Plug the router back into the test socket using only a filter and the short grey dsl cable Sky supplied. Also, check your landline and confirm whether you can hear any noise present i.e. crackles/whistles/static/popping.

      With router plugged into test socket using only a filter and the short grey DSL cable Sky supplied, results are:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4576 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 14.0 db


      Barely any different by the look of it.

      No difference regarding phone line noise.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      Alright, well it's either a line or router issue. Is it definitely the v1 white netgear you have as per your profile? Do you have another router to try?

    6. #5
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      Nope, it's the V2 black Netgear V2 DG934G, just corrected that.


      Don't have any another router available right now to test - bummer.


      Could it be that Sky have (re)set the profile for my line at around ~4500 kbps, because that's what they were continuously seeing and so now I'm stuck at that?

      If this is the case and I telephoned them up, maybe some techie could (re)set the profile to it's correct amount?

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      No, the SNR suggest at present you can't get any more so either something has happened to the line OR the other speed was a false reading
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      No, the SNR suggest at present you can't get any more so either something has happened to the line OR the other speed was a false reading
      Well if I can rule out the second, the other speed being a false reading - which can't possibly be correct if it remained at the other original speed for more than 2 years solid.


      If what you say is true, then that must mean that it's the line.

      If the test socket and the main line are both reading almost the same, could it be a problem with the lines in the area leading in, for example would a change in contention/number of users in the area have anything to do with it? Or is it specifically the line leading into my house?

      And how do I go about fixing the issue if it is a line problem? Will a call to Sky help and if so what to say to them?

      I don't want to be charged a whopper if they end up sending an engineer out.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      Plug a phone on its own in the test socket and see if there's any hiss, there is a number to ring for the quiet line test - I think it's 017070 but wait for someone to confirm.

      If there is noise on the line then you need to get in touch with your line provider to get sorted. If not, you've got to convince Sky there's an issue (unless a line test they do brings up a fault of course)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      You could ask Sky to try your line on ADSL2+, but it may not help as it has probably been put on G.DMT to stabilise it. Nothing is going to improve it if it is a faulty line, apart from getting it fixed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited (I think?), speeds reduced - possibly too much SNR ?

      7150 kbps Downstream and 768 kbps Upstream.

      That would suggest it was on GDMT originally, if the upstream is to go by...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION