Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 37

    Sky traffic shaping?

    This is a discussion on Sky traffic shaping? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So what do we do now?...

    1. #21
      96th's Avatar
      96th is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      So what do we do now?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      Can you post your stats as previously requested.
      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      It is also essential that you establish whether the drop outs are happening with ethernet and/or wireless.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      96th's Avatar
      96th is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9213 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 20 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 8 db
      Can I mess with the ADSL master socket while my laptop, router etc. are still on? I'm only 14, I don't wanna die

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      Your noise margin is very low, probably about to drop out.
      There is no danger in plugging into the Test socket, just power the router off before you plug it in and there will be no damage. In fact, you are better powering it off so that it does a full resync/reboot when powered back up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      96th's Avatar
      96th is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      My router wouldn't connect through the master socket :S

    7. #26
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      96th
      Hi connect the filter to the master socket tester then short grey cable between the router to the filter
      Last edited by steve16751; 18-11-10 at 08:20 PM.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      Quote Originally Posted by 96th View Post
      My router wouldn't connect through the master socket :S
      If you are not getting dial tone with a phone plugged into the Test socket, it is incorrectly wired. Plug a phone in and try it please.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      96th's Avatar
      96th is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      @steve: I plugged my whole filter with my phone and my Sky box in. I'll try again later and tell you tommorow, maybe I haven't given it enough time?

    10. #29
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      96th
      Hi from the master socket with the filter and Router only plugged in can you do a as Isitme has asked for How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket and copy and paste to your next post.

    11. #30
      poorbroadband's Avatar
      poorbroadband is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky traffic shaping?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Well, yeah cause if you're uploading something and using up the whole upstream bandwidth new requests can't go thorugh so it WILL go slower. That's why people using torrents experience slow browsing as they're constantly rinsing their upstream
      That does not make any sense because it is just my broswing speed that's affected, my download speed isn't affected that much.


      To those of you who say Sky don't Traffic Shape, upload a vid of you uploading and browsing at the same time then Your uploading should not affect your browsing, not even a tiny bit.

      Are there fanboys of this company on here?

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION