Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 41

    My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

    This is a discussion on My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The fact it connects randomly would point to more of a routing issue Sky's end or a router issue but ...

    1. #21
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      The fact it connects randomly would point to more of a routing issue Sky's end or a router issue but as you've had a new router and 2 PCs do it I'd be looking more towards Sky's end
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      jimmy_hugh's Avatar
      jimmy_hugh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      I use to have automatic windows updates on my windows 7 I have now changed this and deleted all old updates!

      Now i have a alert of new updates to install because i have took automatic updates I have noticed that one is for the drivers of the intel wireless wifi link do you think this could of been the problem that I updated the drivers before and it had altered my settings !!!

    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      Possibly but unless both computers are using the same Wi-Fi card I doubt it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      jimmy_hugh's Avatar
      jimmy_hugh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      True but at the moment it seems to be working on both laptops fine again.

      Powered up both computers again this morning and it connects instantly it is very strange.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      If it happens again, try using OpenDNS servers, it might not help, but it will do no harm. Put these addresses in the 'Use these servers' space in the Ipv4 Properties page.
      208.67.222.222
      208.67.220.220

      Many find these work better than the Sky servers. There is no need to give the PC a fixed address, although you can do if you wish.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      jimmy_hugh's Avatar
      jimmy_hugh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      Thanks both for your help with everything fingers crossed it don't happen again.

      Do you run windows 7 and is it best not to have the automatic updates on?

      And doe sit matter if I don't install them all the time?

    8. #27
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      I use Windows 7 x64 Ultimate, have it tell me updates are available but I always install everything it gives me. I'm on o2 now but never have any issues when I go home to my parents on Sky BB with the Netgear DG934 router
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      I have Win 7 and have Updates set to download but not to install till I say so. I never accept updates for my hardware, these I get direct from the manufacturers site. I had a bad experience with Reltek drivers a couple of years ago.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      jimmy_hugh's Avatar
      jimmy_hugh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      Ok thats great guys thats what I am doing from now on Isitme.

    11. #30
      jimmy_hugh's Avatar
      jimmy_hugh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My wirless connection says connected but has status no internet access

      So went home again and it has struck again connected but no internet access.

      I opened up my wireless connection status box and this is the details coming up.

      Connection
      IPV4 Connectivity: No Internet Access
      IPV6 Connectivity: No Network Access
      Media State: Enabled
      SSID SKY14515
      Duration:
      Speed: 54.0mbps
      Activity
      Sent: Bytes 58,895
      Recived: Bytes 45,534


      Then I clicked on details

      Connection Specfic Home Description: Intel (r) WIFI Link 5100 AGN
      Physical Address: 00-1E-65-40-AF-36
      DHCP Enabled: Yes
      IPv4 Address: 192.168.0.2
      IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Lease Obtained: 18th november
      Ease expires 19 november
      IPv4 default gateway 192.168.0.1
      IPv4 DHCP Server: 192.168.0.1
      IPv4 Wins Server:
      Netbios overttcpipEn: Yes
      Linklocal IPv6 Address: fe80:394c b9c6 4e80f1%1c
      IPv6 Default gateway
      IPv6 DNS Server

      I phoned Sky again and they went through all the troubleshooting with me and that but still couldn't get it up working.

      he has past it on to one of the higher teams there and awaiting a phone call from them?

      Like I say i could go home tonight and it be working again just thought i would ask if you guys got any more thoughts on it? Cheers

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION