Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Another cas of limited broadband speed

    This is a discussion on Another cas of limited broadband speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have had a look but it still doesn't explain anything for me!...

    1. #11
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Another cas of limited broadband speed

      Have had a look but it still doesn't explain anything for me!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Another cas of limited broadband speed

      I think Sky have once again mucked up the upgrade to some Sagem routers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      mullins's Avatar
      mullins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I see that was about the date when my speed dropped when the firmware update was installed. Luckily I have an old netgear router I will test that and see if the speed changes. Will post soon!

    5. #14
      mullins's Avatar
      mullins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another cas of limited broadband speed

      Does not seem it is a router issue I just tested a netgear range max router and the speed is also lower on that too.

      Just seems the line speed has been dropped from the exchange or sky are capping my speed without admiting it.

      Roll on fibreoptic broadband!

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Another cas of limited broadband speed

      Sky are not capping your speed or you would have a higher noise margin. For instance, I have a sync speed of 9123 with a noise margin on 9-10dbs, which means I am capped at 9Mb. I could probably get them to raise the speed to 10Mb, but I prefer a very stable line.

      As you say, if you are getting the same speed from the test socket with another router it looks like your line has deteriorated or developed a fault and the router upgrade was a red herring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION