Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    512 down / 768 up?

    This is a discussion on 512 down / 768 up? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I fear there must be something drastically wrong with my sky router. The statistics it is showing are: System Up ...

    1. #1
      wigwam_salesman's Avatar
      wigwam_salesman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      512 down / 768 up?

      I fear there must be something drastically wrong with my sky router. The statistics it is showing are:

      System Up Time: 3357:34:10
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1205755 1469038 0 0 0 1688:38:48
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 3357:34:10
      WLAN 2828918 2058319 0 0 0 3357:33:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 512 kbps 746 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.5 db 33.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 10.5 db



      Anyone got any suggestions? I don't even think Sky offer a 512Kbps service!
      Last edited by Isitme; 06-11-10 at 11:47 AM. Reason: Personal information removed


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      ADSL with Sky is a variable rate, you can get anything from a few kbs to 20Mb plus, depending on your line. At the moment you are getting as much as your line can handle. Please plug into the Test socket and post your stats from there. Use nothing but the filter and ADSL cable supplied by Sky.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      There is no need to post anything from the router status page, as it shows personal details which you should not post.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      id ring sky and ask it its been 'capped' when they run their test
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      it's not capped with the noise margin as it is - likely to be a internal wiring fault
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      Quote Originally Posted by Binary View Post
      id ring sky and ask it its been 'capped' when they run their test
      Capped?? With a noise margin of 6.9dbs, it is only capped by bad wires.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      yes but dlm can be done again at any pont and it could have capped itat 512 due to bad wires, so after checking the wires if it dosent go up then chances are there is also a cap.

      anyway, how long have you been conected and has it always been like this?
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      Binary
      Hi The Noise margin Downstream would be higher than the Default of 6.9db. One of the biggest issues is internal wiring faults. Like extension cables or loose wiring.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      Maybe we will get somewhere if the OP does as suggested.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      wigwam_salesman's Avatar
      wigwam_salesman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      Sorry, I went away for the weekend. I won't do it again

      I'll have to bring home a network cable from work tomorrow and try it.

    11. #10
      wigwam_salesman's Avatar
      wigwam_salesman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 512 down / 768 up?

      Well I plugged into my test socket and still get 512kbps down, upload went down to 600. I can't believe for a second that on a new build housing estate (about a year old) 0.5Mbps is the fastest connection available. Especially not when I moved here from 400 yards away and had a 6Mbps connection. I can't even believe it is Sky as I have friends on Sky in the area getting at least 2Mbps.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION