Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 25 of 25

    Using DG834 with Netgear WNDR3700 (N600)

    This is a discussion on Using DG834 with Netgear WNDR3700 (N600) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have tried using Firefox and I don't get the problemm however certain pages take a long long time then ...

    1. #21
      Carnagerover's Avatar
      Carnagerover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using DG834 with Netgear WNDR3700 (N600)

      I have tried using Firefox and I don't get the problemm however certain pages take a long long time then load. So I would imagine that it has a different timeout setting to chrome.

      I'm not sure what could cause my internet to stop working on random pages, are those packets not getting through or is it something else.

      I have zero clue but its damn annoying


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using DG834 with Netgear WNDR3700 (N600)

      Try starting Firefox in Safe Mode and see if the problem is still there. Shut down FF completely by going to File in the menu bar and click Exit. Put firefox -safe-mode in the Vista or Win 7 search box and click the icon the Continue in Safe Mode. See how browsing goes.

      Chrome does not have a Safe Mode as such, but you could try this which is as near as it gets.
      Extensions Broke Your Browser? How to Enter 'Safe Mode' in Google Chrome

      Both of these disable adds ons and tool bars etc, so if your browsing speed improves look at these for the solution.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Carnagerover (08-11-10)

    5. #23
      Carnagerover's Avatar
      Carnagerover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using DG834 with Netgear WNDR3700 (N600)

      Thanks for the suggestion, however I only re-installed my machine two days ago and both Firefox and Chrome are vanilla. I have no idea whether this is my laptop, equipment or broadband at fault here.

    6. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using DG834 with Netgear WNDR3700 (N600)

      I have no idea whether this is my laptop, equipment or broadband at fault here.
      The only way to find out would be to get someone else to bring in a laptop and try it.

      It's a long shot, but you could try disabling the V6 IP protocol. This has been known to cause some unusual problems. Go to the LAN card properties and untick it. Unless you are in a Win 7 workgroup, it is not required at the moment.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Carnagerover (09-11-10)

    8. #25
      Carnagerover's Avatar
      Carnagerover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using DG834 with Netgear WNDR3700 (N600)

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The only way to find out would be to get someone else to bring in a laptop and try it.

      It's a long shot, but you could try disabling the V6 IP protocol. This has been known to cause some unusual problems. Go to the LAN card properties and untick it. Unless you are in a Win 7 workgroup, it is not required at the moment.
      Will give that a go, I have got the Draytek Vigor 120 today and it syncs at the same line speed as my Netgear and has a a nice PPPOA to PPPOE bridge so my WNDR3700 now has my internet ip and dns settings.

      No page timeouts as yet, however its been alright all day with the normal Netgear, apart from the odd slowdown on loading no timeout. So I will see if this stays the same.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION