Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Only 0ne computer at a time

    This is a discussion on Only 0ne computer at a time within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, first time posting so take it easy, I have sky unlimited and 3 pc's and a xbox360,ps3. I have ...

    1. #1
      casinodancer's Avatar
      casinodancer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hyde
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Only 0ne computer at a time

      Hi, first time posting so take it easy, I have sky unlimited and 3 pc's and a xbox360,ps3. I have a sagem fast router, the problem is that when all in use for internet, everything is ok but when I try downloading a large file form my newsgroups, that is the only computer that will conect to the internet. Was with bt before and had no such problems, please help!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      phproxy's Avatar
      phproxy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Player
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only 0ne computer at a time

      Quote Originally Posted by casinodancer View Post
      Hi, first time posting so take it easy, I have sky unlimited and 3 pc's and a xbox360,ps3. I have a sagem fast router, the problem is that when all in use for internet, everything is ok but when I try downloading a large file form my newsgroups, that is the only computer that will conect to the internet. Was with bt before and had no such problems, please help!
      The sagem router is, basically, ****.

      If you max your download speeds on one pc, using multiple connections (torrents/newsgroups), you'll struggle to browse on any others..

      Solution A: Limit your download speed on the newsgroups.
      Solution B: Use your own router.

    4. #3
      casinodancer's Avatar
      casinodancer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hyde
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only 0ne computer at a time

      Thanks
      Last edited by casinodancer; 04-11-10 at 04:43 PM. Reason: me posting wrong

    5. #4
      casinodancer's Avatar
      casinodancer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hyde
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only 0ne computer at a time

      Shouldn't I be able to download faster than 1200kbs with these readings cheers

      System Up Time: 66:40:11
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 12310437 21286390 0 0 0 66:38:54
      LAN 977497 491876 0 4528 0 66:40:11
      WLAN 22027081 12867465 0 4546 4402 66:39:44
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11261 kbps 902 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 17.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.5 db 9.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

    6. #5
      casinodancer's Avatar
      casinodancer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hyde
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only 0ne computer at a time

      Also can I use my old bt router?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Only 0ne computer at a time

      Shouldn't I be able to download faster than 1200kbs with these readings cheers
      I think you may be mixing up bits and bytes. You are connecting at 11261 kilobits per second, allowing for line overheads this will allow you a data transfer rate of about 1200 kilobytes per second, which is what you are probably getting.

      Although it is against the T & Cs, many use their own router, you will find out everything you need to know in this section -
      Broadband Technical Help

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Only 0ne computer at a time

      As I say - to convert from router/speedtest speed divide the sync speed by 10 and your about there.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION