Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    A problem i found

    This is a discussion on A problem i found within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I need a little help i installed XAMP to host a website for a college project. and whenever i type ...

    1. #1
      demented888's Avatar
      demented888 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: upton park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      A problem i found

      I need a little help i installed XAMP to host a website for a college project. and whenever i type in my ip into the browser it gose to the router config page i forwarded port 80

      also i have given the ip to my friend and for him he get the page not found error.

      so from this i can tell that my router is preventing the broadcast of the website or is broadcasting it on localhost.

      PS: i have tried the 2 domain name server ips on the router stat page.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: A problem i found

      What IP address are you using? You should be using the IP Address shown in the ADSL Port list on your router status page. You will not be able to access this from within your own network.

      This is a dynamic address so you will have to use DDNS or the connection will be lost when the address changes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      demented888's Avatar
      demented888 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: upton park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A problem i found

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:25:69:6f:35:03
      IP Address 90.213.201.37
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.254.132
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99



      thts what i got and i was using this
      IP Address 90.213.201.37

      and im using apache which is running and also i have added port 80 under services and allowed it on outbound services
      90.213.201.37/upload <-- is my website and all it dose is take me to my router config page and my friends to a "page not found"

    5. #4
      demented888's Avatar
      demented888 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: upton park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A problem i found

      Please can someone help i really am trying to get a good grade and i get 30 extra marks if i host the server

    6. #5
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: A problem i found

      You cant access an internal server using the external IP the router wont route a request from inside the network back to the network. You can only access on the external IP from OUTSIDE your network and you have to have forwarded port 80 on inbound services to the IP of your computer. Outbound port 80 allows you to access sites, inbound allows you to host one.
      If you want to test your server works internally you have to use http://localhost/upload or http://192.168.0.*/upload where * is the number assigned to your computer.
      You also need to verify windows isnt blocking it with its own firewall (Very likely as your not using IIS)

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION