Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Confused about speed I'm getting

    This is a discussion on Confused about speed I'm getting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey Guys, I'm a little unsure why my speeds are so slow and i'd appreciate some advice. I'm on Sky ...

    1. #1
      Sean945's Avatar
      Sean945 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Confused about speed I'm getting

      Hey Guys,

      I'm a little unsure why my speeds are so slow and i'd appreciate some advice. I'm on Sky Unlimited during the DLM period so I expect some slow and random speeds but i'm concerned at just how slow it currently is. My router in the test socket gives these readings;


      Downstream 896 kbps
      Upstream 704 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63 db Down and 31.5 Up
      Noise Margin 8.2 db Down and 7.0 Up

      I realise this is rather poop but the line attenuation is what is baffling me. I live about 1 Mile as the crow flies from my exchange so should it be that high? Also the speed more than halves when I attach the router to the master socket with the faceplate on, I assume this means a dodgy faceplate?

      I don't have any extensions and filters are used for everything but on my previous ISP (Tiscali/Talk Talk) I was getting a steady 2MB, so what may have caused the dip? Is it merely the DLM?

      Thanks

      Sean


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      Are these stats from the TEST socket then? if so you won't see much more than you are currently getting. at a push another mb.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

      Your attenuation says you are a lot further cable wise than 1 mile.

    4. #3
      Sean945's Avatar
      Sean945 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      Yes they're from the test socket and roughly halve when I reattach the faceplate. How do i find what exchange i'm on because I am literally 1 mile (as the crow flies) from my nearest exchange. Any other reason the attenuation should be that high? I also can't fathom why Tiscali could provide a rock solid connection at 2mb and often higher

      Hmm also now the internet disconnects when the phone rings, happens after i've switched filters too. Any ideas anyone?

      Thanks

      Sean

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      The phone disconnecting the BB usually means either a faulty filter or a high resistance line fault and this could explain your attenuation.

      Exchange details here:- SkyUser - Sky Broadband Availability and Exchange Checker

      The more realistic distance is the "by road" one.

    6. #5
      Sean945's Avatar
      Sean945 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      Hey, good news!

      I cheekily asked a neighbour who works for Sky to take a look for me, he faffed for literally 2 minutes and i'm now running happily at 11MB with Attenuation of 28db! Dodgy wiring/connections apparently, well he didn't say that but it was way over my head anyway!

      Thanks for your quick replies

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      Sky tv splitter connected, I'd guess.

    8. #7
      Nofews's Avatar
      Nofews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      11Meg is still pretty poor I expect no less then 16Meg

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      Quote Originally Posted by Nofews View Post
      11Meg is still pretty poor I expect no less then 16Meg
      Can you stop hijacking threads with USELESS nonsense, passed off as 'advice'.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      Quote Originally Posted by Nofews View Post
      11Meg is still pretty poor I expect no less then 16Meg
      Great advice that especially as you don't get that yourself you idiot!!!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Confused about speed I'm getting

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Great advice that especially as you don't get that yourself you idiot!!!
      Please don't mock the afflicted.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION