Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

    This is a discussion on Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I bought the iPlate from BT and these were the stats before I installed the iPlate: ADSL Link Downstream ...

    1. #1
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Hello,

      I bought the iPlate from BT and these were the stats before I installed the iPlate:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5472 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 28.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 16.0 db
      Now with the iPlate installed, the stats are now reading:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5472 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 12.7 db 17.0 db
      The rise in the noise margin means I can get more speed now correct? If so, how much? And how do I raise the speed?

      Thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      You need to ring Sky and tell them you have repaired the wiring and need the line manually configuring.

      You may see another 5-6mb

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      I'd say more like 2-3Mbps, better to be pessimistic
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      I suppose you're right but as you are me, why are we arguing?????

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Split-personality is a bitch

      OP, give Sky a call and they can sort you out - ignore the banter
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      It may pay to ask them to put you on ADSL2+ as well, unless you have a very bad external line, there should be no need for G.DMT.

      I would guess you should see 7-8Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It may pay to ask them to put you on ADSL2+ as well, unless you have a very bad external line, there should be no need for G.DMT.

      I would guess you should see 7-8Mb.
      Hey,

      Thanks for the replies.

      So at the moment, I'm not ADSL2+?

      What would stop me from going onto ADSL2+?

      How do I check the line to see if it's suitable / not bad etc?

      Thank you.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      If your line was performing badly when DLM was run, it may have been put back on ADSL1 to stabilize it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If your line was performing badly when DLM was run, it may have been put back on ADSL1 to stabilize it.
      Ok.

      So all I have to do is call or email Sky and ask them to increase my connection speed to what though?

      And upgrade me to ADSL2+?

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      They will up it on the fly and stop when the noise margin drops dowm to around 7db as that means you are getting all the speed the line can handle.

      Just ring them, they will do the rest.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION