Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

    This is a discussion on Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Smithy99 They will up it on the fly and stop when the noise margin drops dowm to ...

    1. #11
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      They will up it on the fly and stop when the noise margin drops dowm to around 7db as that means you are getting all the speed the line can handle.

      Just ring them, they will do the rest.
      Ok - since I'll be calling Tier 1 first, how can I ask for the Tier 3 guys?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Ok now this weird, during the day, my noise margin was 12.7 db but now since it's night, it's 7.6 db?

      Is this normal?

    4. #13
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Im really confused now so I'll update the thread with my questions:

      • Am I on ADSL2+? If not, how can you tell?
      • The stats I posted 6 hours ago were much better than the ones I just posted now. How comes?
      • Because of these stats, does that mean I can't increase my speed?

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Going from the 2 stats in the first post it looks like GDMT (ADSL1)
      Noise on the line increases at night
      Not a lot no until the line noise issue has been addressed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Going from the 2 stats in the first post it looks like GDMT (ADSL1)
      Noise on the line increases at night
      Not a lot no until the line noise issue has been addressed
      Thank you mate.

      But since the noise during the day was reasonable, why does it go down at night?

    7. #16
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      because of interference, street lights and stuff causes the SNR to drop, i have 44db attenuation and im getting 7.7mbps at 7db snr but at night it drops to 3.5db, i dunno if its normal to drop that much but mine drops aswell........

    8. #17
      Broadbander-Sky's Avatar
      Broadbander-Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Quote Originally Posted by boothy_08 View Post
      because of interference, street lights and stuff causes the SNR to drop, i have 44db attenuation and im getting 7.7mbps at 7db snr but at night it drops to 3.5db, i dunno if its normal to drop that much but mine drops aswell........
      Does it affect your connection in any way? I.e cause lag or disconnects etc?

    9. #18
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      on this d link router no it doesnt disconnect or slow my speed down, but it can get more errors when the snr is lower.

    10. #19
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Quote Originally Posted by Broadbander-Sky View Post
      Ok - since I'll be calling Tier 1 first, how can I ask for the Tier 3 guys?
      You may not need to. A number of us at Tier 1 can reconfigure your line. Worst case scenario, you will have the issue escalated to CST and it will be dealt with in up to 72 hours.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Noise margin has increased with iPlate from BT

      Just to go back a bit. If you found that fitting an iPlate improved your line, there is a good chance that fitting and using a filtered faceplate would improve it even more. Plug into your Test socket and post your stats from there.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      As things stand if Sky see your noise margin is dropping a lot at night, they may not be prepared to up your speed as it could cause drop outs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION