Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Thinking of switching BB to Sky

    This is a discussion on Thinking of switching BB to Sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys Thinking of migrating our phone/ BB to Sky, just like we have with the TV. The question is, ...

    1. #1
      BlueJoe101's Avatar
      BlueJoe101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thinking of switching BB to Sky

      Hi Guys

      Thinking of migrating our phone/BB to Sky, just like we have with the TV. The question is, i've checked we have a LLU enabled exchange but what sort of speeds could we expect on average?

      Living about 2.5 miles from the exchange. Currently have 20mb with Virgin but it's costing a fair chunk a month and were being ripped off on phone charges too.

      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Thinking of switching BB to Sky

      Without proper line stats it would just be a guess on your distance. Put your details in here:- SkyUser - Sky Broadband Availability and Exchange Checker

      Try using a neighbours phone number.

    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Thinking of switching BB to Sky

      It really depends on the line quality as to what speed you'd be looking at - anywhere around 2-5mbps would be realistic. Then again, what you think may be 2.5 miles as the crow flies could be a lot different when it comes to actual loop length with how the line is routed.

      Try this out for a rough estimate:

      ADSL Checker

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Thinking of switching BB to Sky

      If you are 2.5 miles from the exchange, forget it and stay with cable. Your actual line length is probably over 3 miles which would give you a very low connection speed, nothing like you have with cable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      BlueJoe101's Avatar
      BlueJoe101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Thinking of switching BB to Sky

      Hmm okay will have to have a serious think about that then. As we went down to a 2mb service before with Virgin and that was seriously slow when everybody was connected (3 PC's and an Xbox)

      According to samknows the exchange does have some FTTC available too but only in some areas. Doubt it stretches this far...

      Distance:- Direct:
      1.62 mi
      (appx)* By Road:
      2.5 mi

      I was going by road distance, so I suppose it does depend, but the checker on here suggests 1-2mb if i'm lucky...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION