Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    New User

    This is a discussion on New User within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Smithy99 You should see 10mb now, you just need a standard ethernet cable to run from the ...

    1. #21
      Ben6625's Avatar
      Ben6625 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      Blackpool
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You should see 10mb now, you just need a standard ethernet cable to run from the router to the PC.
      Wow cheers!! Will sort it out tomorrow.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New User

      Also are these any good?
      I would not recommend this, it is little better than a telephone extension. If you are going to use a longer ADSL cable, get one made from twisted pair cable. This does not suffer from the same interference as flat cable. Something like this - Modem Cable High Quality ADSL Broadband RJ11 Lead - 15 Metre : Tamar Telecommunications Shop, Telephone equipment direct to your door! or Run IT Direct will make one up to the exact length you require.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      Ben6625's Avatar
      Ben6625 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      Blackpool
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I would not recommend this, it is little better than a telephone extension. If you are going to use a longer ADSL cable, get one made from twisted pair cable. This does not suffer from the same interference as flat cable. Something like this - Modem Cable High Quality ADSL Broadband RJ11 Lead - 15 Metre : Tamar Telecommunications Shop, Telephone equipment direct to your door! or Run IT Direct will make one up to the exact length you require.
      Thanks, I have a long ethernet cable which I will use instead, saves on cost etc. Just wanted to say a huge thanks for all the advice so far.

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New User

      That will be fine, you can always put a switch or even a spare router at the end of the ethernet cable to give you more ports should you need them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      Ben6625's Avatar
      Ben6625 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      Blackpool
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User

      Have now moved the router downstairs, stats have dropped but I guess it's cos it's a Sunday and with more people using it etc. DLM hasn't kicked in yet.


    7. #26
      Ben6625's Avatar
      Ben6625 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      Blackpool
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User

      Hi all

      I just thought I would post in here rather than start a new thread. DLM stopped on the 05/11. I logged in today to see if had ended, as its just been over ten days. These are the stats I'm getting.



      On clicking on the connection details within Sky Account this is what it says.

      Your connection details
      Line connection testing completed on 05/11/2010

      Download Speed
      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      1.0Mb (1024Kb)

      Upload Speed
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      0.8Mb (800Kb)


      It states my estimated speed was 5.5mb. Will my speed improve over time?

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New User

      Are you back on an extension again? As mentioned you should be getting 8-9 Mb, so there is something badly wrong. Post your stats from the Test socket, using the Sky supplied cable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      Ben6625's Avatar
      Ben6625 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      Blackpool
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New User

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Are you back on an extension again? As mentioned you should be getting 8-9 Mb, so there is something badly wrong. Post your stats from the Test socket, using the Sky supplied cable.
      Hi no I am running it directly from the master socket, like I said I had a long ethernet lead that I am using.



      Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New User

      It looks like DLM has found something wrong and capped your speed. As your WAN has been up for 8 and a half days, it could not have run very long.

      Phone Sky and tell them you think DLM has left your speed too low, can the do it manually for you. Your line looked better on ADSL1, but hey will probably want to keep it on ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION