Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Uncapping Sky Connect?

    This is a discussion on Uncapping Sky Connect? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I have just recently been on the phone to sky broadband support. They have informed me that i ...

    1. #1
      Metronomy55's Avatar
      Metronomy55 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Uncapping Sky Connect?

      Hi there,
      I have just recently been on the phone to sky broadband support.
      They have informed me that i am unable to have my broadband uncapped, unless i go for the Unlimitied package.

      My line can handle 19mbps according to sky, and recent line tests.

      Is this true, or is it possible to get in uncapped without having to take out the Unlimitied package.

      Any help would be much appreciated.
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      If you're on Connect then it's up to 8Mbps as it's a BT product rebadged as Sky because their LLU service isn't available.

      Post your connection stats and we'll have a look but I'd also check your exchange out and see if Sky is enabled
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Metronomy55's Avatar
      Metronomy55 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      The letter that i recieved from Sky in regards to the package, stated i had 8mbps and would receive a 40gig download allowance.
      The guy also said that was not the case, and the package has now been downgraded to 10GB download allowance, in the last few days.
      Saying i really should go for the Unlimited package.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      Post your stats, that does sound like Connect which IS a 40GB limit but can't be upgraded...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      Quote Originally Posted by Metronomy55 View Post
      The letter that i recieved from Sky in regards to the package, stated i had 8mbps and would receive a 40gig download allowance.
      The guy also said that was not the case, and the package has now been downgraded to 10GB download allowance, in the last few days.
      Saying i really should go for the Unlimited package.
      8mb and 40gb is Connect. There is no package with a 10gb allowance. Everyday Lite has 2gb and unlimited is just that. Both are up to 20mb speeds.

      I'd call back and ask them what you're on, and ask them to explain the letter to you. And if you talk to the sales department, make sure to double check EVERYTHING before you go ahead with any package changes. They tend to be a little sparing with the facts....

    7. #6
      Metronomy55's Avatar
      Metronomy55 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      Just done a quick line test on speedtest.bt

      Download speedachieved during the test was - 5834 Kbps
      For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.
      Additional Information:
      Your DSL Connection Rate :8128 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP Profile for your line is - 7150 Kbps

    8. #7
      Metronomy55's Avatar
      Metronomy55 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      Sorry and to clarify i am currently on 8mb with 40GB download allowance.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      You're on Connect, that can't be updated unless your exchange has been enabled to the LLU service

      And yes, up to 8Mbps, 40GB limit
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Metronomy55's Avatar
      Metronomy55 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      Aaaah right, thanks for the help.
      I should have mentioned I am a non-LLU service.

      I was just confused when the guy had offered me it on the phone on the Unlimitied package.
      So untill Sky get there equipment in the exchange, im on 8MB?
      Not complaining though, im only use it for XBOX Live.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Uncapping Sky Connect?

      Yes BUT the big issue is do another speedtest in about an hour...if you're still getting 5Mbps then I'll be VERY surprised...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION