Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Is this normal?

    This is a discussion on Is this normal? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok here's the thing. I have been with sky and had the broadband unlimited a BT line and sky+ for ...

    1. #1
      martpen69's Avatar
      martpen69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: catford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this normal?

      Ok here's the thing. I have been with sky and had the broadband unlimited a BT line and sky+ for about 9 years with no problems at all. In fact I used to rave about sky and how great they are. Recently we moved house and asked sky to transfer what we had to our new house. Because it was a different exchange and further away I expected a dramatic loss of speed but was quoted at 5.5mb download (old address had 17mb). This time though I opted for the whole lot from sky including the phone line. We finally after lots of calls got online on the 18/10/10 and the first thing I checked was my router stats which I've posted below. Now I understand that the first 10 days is a bit up and down but I check the stats all the time and they have not changed since Monday. I have tried to contact sky and tell them but all they say is that I have to wait for the 10 day period to end. I was expecting for the speed to go up and down like I was told until the line was stable but I have not seen the stats change. My question is does this seem normal to you guys or are sky making me wait 10 days then tell me my line is crap and wait longer for an engineer visit. I should tell you that when we moved in there was no phone line here so I asked sky to install it. There is no extension sockets in the house and only one telephone plugged in with the filter.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Is this normal?-untitled.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Have you got a test socket? If so, try that as that's not looking too good
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      martpen69's Avatar
      martpen69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: catford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Stats attached from test socket!
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Is this normal?-untitled1.jpg  

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Try a different filter in the test socket, the attenuation isn't brilliant but you should be getting a better speed than that I would have thought. Do you get any noise on the line at all if you plug just the phone into the test socket?

    6. #5
      martpen69's Avatar
      martpen69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: catford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      I tries a new filter and no change. Yes the line is noisy and i have told sky and they say i have to wait the 10 days still.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      If the line is noisey with JUST a phone in the test socket then it's a line fault and completely seperate from the BB. Get onto your phone provider if this is the case
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      martpen69's Avatar
      martpen69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: catford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Line tested ok in test socket with a new handset. Turns out my handset was crap so it seems the line is ok. Conclusion is from sky to wait the 10 days and they only started testing the line on the 20th.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION