Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 36

    Been moved to SVBN.....

    This is a discussion on Been moved to SVBN..... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; .....and the results are in: Down Up 9533 kbps 798 kbps 30.5 db 16.0 db 7.9 db 16.3 db (please ...

    1. #11
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      .....and the results are in:

      Down Up
      9533 kbps 798 kbps
      30.5 db 16.0 db
      7.9 db 16.3 db

      (please compare to results at the very top of this thread)

      So, moving to the test socket has had an effect. The upload speed is still stuck at 798, though. It's all very frustrating - because before the move to SVBN (and the router dying) both upload and download were noticeably faster. Your thoughts on my next move (if there is one)?

      Thanks,

      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      You can call and get the line set to another profile to get the upstream higher but it might have an affect on the downstream. SVBN profiles are set whereas the old DSLAM connection are all independent of each other. This means older connections can have the downstream and upstream set to whatever the agent feels like. With the SVBN profiles they are set speeds and can't be edited...I'd imagine you're currently on 10Mbps down/800kbps up but I could be wrong, been nearly a year since I left Sky!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to IWasNotTheEnemy For This Useful Post:

      mjnelson (21-10-10)

    5. #13
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      Thanks very much - useful to know that there are distinct profiles now, I was thinking that download and upload could be freely tuned independently of each other.

      With my stats, d'ya think that 10Mbps down is the best I can expect? Not sure what more I can do, other than accept it! I've also heard (accurately?) that now that I am on the SVBN that it is not as easy to just look elsewhere for my ISP. But, to be honest, I'm not an online gamer, so do these figures really make a big difference to me? I guess stability is more important (as is cost!).....

      Thanks very much,

      Matt

    6. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      Yeah, it's the one issue I had with the SVBN. The DSLAM connections are all independent so you can set delays, downstream, upstream, INP all seperate of each other. Makes life a lot easier!!

      Going by those stats in the test socket that's as good as it'll get, and it's not bad!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #15
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      Hello.....sorry, it's me again :-S

      Ever wished you never started something?

      A few weeks back, when I noticed our stats weren't as good as before, I emailed Sky. And got nothing. Out of the blue, last night, at 10:56pm, I get an email from Sky ("Steve"):

      __
      Please accept my apologies for the delay in replying to your mail.
      I have reviewed your account and line configuration. I have made a minor adjustment to your line configuration which should provide a slightly faster speed and more stable connection. I have noticed however that there are a number of errors existing on your line which usually comes back to the set up within the house. Can you confirm that you have the router in the master socket and all other phone sockets in use are also filtered also that you are not using any extensions from your phone socket to router or from router to your PC. If this is the case please if possible replace the filter. If it is a wireless issue there are a number of changes we can make to improve this for you.
      __

      So, I log in and have a look at the stats:

      Down Up
      10, 238 604
      30.5 db 16.0 db
      7.3 db 16.2 db

      My concerns.....why has my upload dropped noticeably? And what are these errors on my line? Not really sure where to go from here, to be honest. Yesterday, I'd decided I was, in fact, happy. D'oh.

      Thanks for your time,

      Matt

    8. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      Different line profile, one with a higher downstream...

      You're now on the 10Mbps down/608kbps up profile (10240/608)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #17
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      Ok - sorry, you mentioned that yesterday, I should have assumed (hoped?!) that. In your opinion, is that better (faster down, slower up), or is it subjective?

      Also, do I need to worry about these errors on the line that they have discovered?

      Thanks again,

      Matt

    10. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      tbh upstream is only needed if you're uploading a lot of files and need it done quicker. It should have no bearing on gaming
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #19
      mjnelson's Avatar
      mjnelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      Ok, kinda seems obvious when you say it like that. Cheers. I don't even play online games - pretty much just surfing the net, downloading stuff, and the occasional "working from home" scenario (where, I guess uploading is more important, but I only do this very infrequently).

      Errors on the line? Is that a generic response from Sky, or do I need to investigate this further, d'ya reckon?

      I really do appreciate all your replies, thanks.

      Matt

    12. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Been moved to SVBN.....

      Errors are caused if the line is having to re-request information. Errors can't be seen at the same level as connection on a DSLAM can be once logged into the DSLAM via PuTTY. You just see a figure on SVBN connections...If the connection works then the errors are un;ikely to cause issues. So long as things your end are setup as well as they can be then you should be OK
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION