Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

    This is a discussion on help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have the sky sagem fast router which i extracted the username and password from and put them into my ...

    1. #1
      monkified's Avatar
      monkified is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      i have the sky sagem fast router which i extracted the username and password from and put them into my netgear dgn 2000 all the lights come on as normal and it says its connected to the internet but wont load any pages when i looked on the router diagnostics its says"chap authentication failed" when i try to reconnect it does the same

      part 2
      when i couldnt get this to work i piggy backed the netgear router to my sky via ethernet cable turned off wireless on the sky and connected my mac to the netgear router which works fine, what i am confused about is as i only get a 1.2 meg connection were i live would piggy backing the netgear slow things up more, also when ive looked on network utility on my mac it says i,m connecting at 144 mbit/s i know this is how fast the mac connects to the router but is this "wirless N speed" and were can i look to see if it is,

      finaly part 3

      my sons just bought the new xbox with wireless N built in when connecting to the netgear router the xbox only connects using wirless G, there is a N connect button on the side of the router which ive tried pressing and connecting my mac and xbox when it starts flashing thinking it would connect using "N"

      any help is appreicated as ive thrown out every ethernet cable in the house and couldnt bear trying to relay them again

      cheers
      kev


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      Part 1 This is usually caused by using the wrong username and/or password. Check these on the generator site, remember it is the LAN MAC address that is used.
      Part 2 You will not loose much speed using piggyback, not as much as you will using wireless. Anything over 54mbps can be considered N speed, so you are connecting at an N speed. Your router is rated at 300, although it will probably never achieve this. Check you have the latest drivers for your adapter. The network utility on your Mac will show the speed you are connecting at. Remember this has nothing to do with your internet speed. An 11mbps connection would be enough for that.
      Part 3 I think the button on the side only works with Netgear Rangemax adapters, it will probably not work with the Xbox or your Mac, If the Xbox has an N adapter, it should connect at that speed. Have a look in the settings of the router and see if you can set it to broadcast on N only. If the Xbox cannot pick it up at the N speed, I think I would be returning it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      monkified (19-10-10)

    5. #3
      monkified's Avatar
      monkified is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      thanks for the advice, ive done the sky generator again using the lan mac but still fails, i must be doing something wrong, i have put the Lan mac in and the original network key in, ive put the put uername and password in case sensitive, its driving me nuts

    6. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      Did you input the default network key into the generator in full capitals?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to simonmpoulton For This Useful Post:

      monkified (19-10-10)

    8. #5
      monkified's Avatar
      monkified is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      yes i put the default network in capitals

    9. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      Well providing you've got all the settings in the new router correct and your SURE you have the Sagem router and have selected Sagem in the password generator I cant think of much else to do. You arent entering the : in the MAC address are you?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to simonmpoulton For This Useful Post:

      monkified (19-10-10)

    11. #7
      monkified's Avatar
      monkified is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      Well providing you've got all the settings in the new router correct and your SURE you have the Sagem router and have selected Sagem in the password generator I cant think of much else to do. You arent entering the : in the MAC address are you?

      like the idiot i am yes ive been putting the : had all my 3 attempts now going to have to try again tomoz

      thanks
      kev

    12. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      Make sure you copy/paste the results into notepad or something as it's quite easy to get an O and a 0 mixed up
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to IWasNotTheEnemy For This Useful Post:

      monkified (20-10-10)

    14. #9
      monkified's Avatar
      monkified is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      ive tried it and still gets the chaps fail, ive defo put the right mac and network key in, the network key is the default one sky as printed on the side of the router not the one i have changed it to, or do i have to change it back to the default one and then do it again??

    15. #10
      monkified's Avatar
      monkified is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help, chap authentication failed, 3 part question

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 001e74c87100

      thats the mac key i have put in is this the right one and then the default network key, i have put them both in case sensitive, might just have to stay with piggy backing the sky router

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION