Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 35

    first day with sky unlimited

    This is a discussion on first day with sky unlimited within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; that figure was the stats off the router 16383 kbps. speedtest.net said 8.16 and on speed.io 9520 so what is ...

    1. #11
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      that figure was the stats off the router 16383 kbps. speedtest.net said 8.16 and on speed.io 9520 so what is right
      Last edited by thomasjc1; 19-10-10 at 09:50 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Stephen79's Avatar
      Stephen79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNRE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      Does the router need rebooting for the speed/snr adjustments to show?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by thomasjc1 View Post
      that figure was the stats off the router 16383 kbps. speedtest.net said 8.16 and on speed.io 9520 so what is right
      Are you using wireless? If so try your speed with a cable and don't waste your time with speedtest.net, it is not always reliable. Use the SkyUser tester - Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester

      If you check your router log you will find that your router has resynced in the early hours. There is no need for you to reboot it while DLM is running.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      yea wireless computer is to far away from socket for the wire. just tried the sky speed tester just over 3 meg so what is going on is it not 16 meg then

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      That's cause of wireless interference, try wired and you'll see nearer 14Mbps
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      Using a cable you would probably get around 14.5Mb. If you are forced to use wireless, try changing the channel on your router. Download Inssider from the link below and use it to discover the channels in use in your area. Set the router to a channel as far from those in use as possible. This will give you the best speed you will get but depending on the fabric of your house, it may be still quite low.

      If you have a fixed desktop PC, Homeplugs are a far better solution.- Homeplug | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      sorry to be so dumb here.so router is saying just over 16 so am i right in saying thats not the speed im getting.my computer is about 15 foot away from the router will that be ok if i go wired and will it affect me doing that now in the first 10 days.sorry if that sounds dumb but new to this

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      Your router is syncing at 16Mb+ but you will loose some of this to line overheads. This can vary from 10-15% depending on your line and your PC setttings.
      Connecting with a cable is not going to effect DLM as it is within your network, it does not effect the ADSL signal.

      Try changing your channel first, you may get a decent speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      lol downloaded it and it had this time graph going across channel is 6 how do i change the channel

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: first day with sky unlimited

      Go into the router settings, click the Setup tab for the wireless settings. Where is says Mode, use the drop down box to change it to 'g only' or '54g performance' depending on what setting you have.
      Use the drop down box to change the channel to what you want. You can choose any one from 1 to 13, depending on what are in use in your area. You may have to check with Inssider at different times of the day, as not everyone leaves their router switched on 24/7.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION