Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Ethernet Cable Advice

    This is a discussion on Ethernet Cable Advice within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am currently running off a wireless connection under the Sky Broadband Unlimited package and I am considering switching to ...

    1. #1
      Jack0982's Avatar
      Jack0982 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ethernet Cable Advice

      I am currently running off a wireless connection under the Sky Broadband Unlimited package and I am considering switching to an Ethernet Cable. I usually download at an average speed of 100-150kbs but it varies a lot, sometimes I will download at speeds of 40kb/s but then at othertimes it can peak at 600kb/s but will rarely stay this high for longer then a minute. For example right now I am downloading Team Fortress 2 through Steam at 130kb/s, this really doesn't seem very fast for what I could possibly be downloading at.

      I was just wondering how much using an ethernet cable would speed up my connection?

      Also, are all ethernet cables the same or can I buy better quality cables for a better connection?

      My router stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5725 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 db 18.6 db
      Noise Margin 5.0 db 10.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      My router stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5725 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 db 18.6 db
      Noise Margin 5.0 db 10.0 db
      your line is having problems by looking at your stats, you should be getting a lot more speed than that. with a line attenuation of 40db you should be getting around 9 - 10 meg, and your SNR is low for 5725Kbps, are you connected to an extension? if you are plug it in your master socket or test socket if you have one behind the faceplate. then post your stats when your routers connected to the master socket or test socket.

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      Quote Originally Posted by Jack0982 View Post
      Also, are all ethernet cables the same or can I buy better quality cables for a better connection?
      You will be fine with any cable unless it is a really long run say over 100m.

    5. #4
      Jack0982's Avatar
      Jack0982 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      I will definitely try plugging the router directly into the test socket sometime this week, but firstly I just wanted to ask about the filter 'setup' that is connected to the master socket.

      http://i51.tinypic.com/286v1nr.jpg
      http://i56.tinypic.com/n13st0.jpg

      Does this look normal? It seems very messy to me but I wouldn't really know, I have a phone, router and 2 sky boxes (multiroom) connected to it.

    6. #5
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      I'm guessing the tv engineer set that up for you, if only they'd keep their hands off BB our job would be so much easier. The microfilter needs to be the first thing in the socket. The grey cable from the back of the router goes into the modem point. The splitter goes into the phone side of the filter so that your phone and tv will run from it.

    7. #6
      Jack0982's Avatar
      Jack0982 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      Quote Originally Posted by Sanity View Post
      I'm guessing the tv engineer set that up for you, if only they'd keep their hands off BB our job would be so much easier. The microfilter needs to be the first thing in the socket. The grey cable from the back of the router goes into the modem point. The splitter goes into the phone side of the filter so that your phone and tv will run from it.
      As far as I am aware thats how it is set out but I might be getting confused with the parts (i dont know very much about this sort of thing )

      http://i51.tinypic.com/2054n0h.jpg - Am I correct with my labelling here?

      http://i51.tinypic.com/1221d6r.jpg - this is how it is all connected,

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      Yes, you are correct. Are there any cables attached to the faceplate of the socket? Even if there are not you would benefit from fitting a filtered faceplate. It would tidy up your cables.

      Remove the faceplate and plug the router into the test socket on its own and post your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Jack0982's Avatar
      Jack0982 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      I tried it in the test socket and run some speed tests and the router test, I also had ran a few speed tests over a few days before today.

      Normal Socket:
      16th october 2010 - 20:00 - http://www.speedtest.net/result/993090079.png - 0.58mb download - 0.47mb upload - ping 62ms
      17th october 2010 - 12:18 - http://www.speedtest.net/result/993727133.png - 4.93mb download - 0.67mb upload - ping 61ms
      17th october 2010 - 13:30 - http://www.speedtest.net/result/993784518.png - 0.53mb download - 0.66mb upload - ping 78ms
      17th october 2010 - 20:13 - http://www.speedtest.net/result/994195769.png - 0.70mb download - 0.67mb upload - ping 77ms
      18th october 2010 - 1:34 - http://www.speedtest.net/result/994431754.png - 1.91mb download - 0.65mb upload - ping 67ms

      Test Socket Results

      before(normal socket)
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5155 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 db 18.6 db
      Noise Margin 9.4 db 10.0 db

      18th october 2010 - 9:33 - http://www.speedtest.net/result/994734813.png - 0.42 mb download - 0.65 mb upload - ping 63ms

      Plugged into Test Socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5803 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 db 18.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 9.5 db

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/994744289.png - 1.26mb download - 0.67mb upload - 85ms ping
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/994747344.png - 2.15mb download - 0.67mb upload - 59ms ping
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/994748047.png - 1.71mb download - 0.67mb upload - 59ms ping

      after(normal socket again)
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5803 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 db 18.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 10.5 db

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/994754734.png - 0.63mb download - 0.67mb upload - 77ms ping


      The speeds seem really random, sometimes they are 0.5mb other times they shoot up to 4.93mb but not for long it seems. But I definitely had increased speeds according to the speed tests in the test socket. Also, the router stats seem odd, shows a slower download speed before compared to after. Could a weak wireless adapator signal be the cause of unstable speeds?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      Could a weak wireless adapator signal be the cause of unstable speeds?
      In a word yes. Wireless can be very inconsistent. Apart from that Speedtest.net itself is not in the least consistent. Use the SkyUser tester, Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester it is much less used, so gives more consistent results than most other testers. To get an accurate indication of your speed you should use a wired connection. This will give you an idea of what is possible.

      To get the best from wireless make sure you are using the correct channel by downloading Inssider from the link below and use it to discover the channels in use in your area. Set your router channel to one as far from those in use as possible. If the main 1,6,and 11 channels are in use, try number 13.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Jack0982's Avatar
      Jack0982 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      Sorry for being a pest :P, got another question which I forgot to add to last post. When I took off the faceplate I noticed I already had an I-plate installed, does this mean removing the ring wire will not help in any way?

      Also, can you have both an I-plate and a filtered faceplate installed or just one of them?



      Thanks for the replies so far, its been really helpful.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION