Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Ethernet Cable Advice

    This is a discussion on Ethernet Cable Advice within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Basically if you have an iplate then disconnecting the ring wire makes no difference. A filtered faceplate (and the newer ...

    1. #11
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      Basically if you have an iplate then disconnecting the ring wire makes no difference. A filtered faceplate (and the newer master sockets) have the iplate integrated into them and so it therefore becomes unrequired.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      The iPlate does a little more than just filter the ring wire, it also includes an RF filter which can help if your line is subject to this type of interference.

      iPlates and filtered faceplates are not compatible simply because they will not fit together.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Jack0982 (18-10-10)

    5. #13
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      If the Iplate is helping your line stability then this can be changed for a BT 80B RF3 and then fit a filtered faceplate to the NTE5. There is some confusion over ADSL faceplates having the bell wire filter in-the simple answer is NO ADSL faceplate has a bell wire filter as there is no need-the ADSL signal NEVER travels down a cable with the bell wire in it. They achieve the same result but in very different ways.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #14
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      im new to this and the chaps have been helping me with this.on wireless i get 4 meg on wired i get over 13 so think wireless is the way to go

    7. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      Quote Originally Posted by thomasjc1 View Post
      im new to this and the chaps have been helping me with this.on wireless i get 4 meg on wired i get over 13 so think wireless is the way to go
      Don't you mean 'wired is the way to go'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #16
      Jack0982's Avatar
      Jack0982 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Cable Advice

      Ok my ethernet cable arrived today and the results were fantastic. Went from 0.5mb/s to 4.8mb/s according the speedtest.net. My downloads speeds are now at a stable 570kb/s +.

      I tried out the test socket with my new cable on Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester.

      21 October, 2010 14:01:12 4920 Kbps 666 Kbps - master socket
      21 October, 2010 13:54:22 4928 Kbps 355 Kbps - test socket

      Any reason for having a higher upload speed in master socket?

      My router stats were pretty much the same for both sockets except for having a 0.5db higher upstream noise margin in the test socket.

      Thanks to everyone that replied in this thread, was very helpful.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION