Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    My Sky broadband slowed down alot

    This is a discussion on My Sky broadband slowed down alot within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, i've had sky broadband unlimited for over 5 months now and been happy with 15mb broadband but in the ...

    1. #1
      Antichrist84's Avatar
      Antichrist84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01224
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      Hi, i've had sky broadband unlimited for over 5 months now and been happy with 15mb broadband but in the last month or so its dropped alot, i will get 7mb if i'm lucky.
      Theres no bell wire or anything behind the faceplate but tried the test socket anyway and the results are the same. Also, its the master socket i'm using. (the only one in the house)
      Heres the router stats.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15357 kbps 1106 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.5 db 12.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 7.8 db


      Heres the best speed i got using speedtest.net, i've tried others and they also show the same results.


      Please help, i'm not very good at this stuff


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      Using wireless? If so, try wired
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Antichrist84's Avatar
      Antichrist84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01224
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      Thanks for the reply.
      I am wired, if i go wireless i get about 4-5mb at most, and wired i can sometimes get to 7mb. (big difference compared to the 15mb that i used to get)
      Last edited by Antichrist84; 14-10-10 at 11:28 AM.

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      Try the router in your test socket and if the speed goes up then your extensions are causing errors which are reducing your thoroughput.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      Start in Safe Mode with Networking and try a speedtest at Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Antichrist84's Avatar
      Antichrist84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01224
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      Thanks i've tried both methods many times before, i have no extensions in my master socket and using the test socket made no difference.
      Also tried booting into safe mode again and used the skyuser speedtest and got 6848Kbps.

      Got a reply from sky saying i'm configured for 15mb and they can't figure out the problem.
      Don't know what changed, it was working perfect last month

    8. #7
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      faulty router?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      Do you have a friend with a laptop who could come in and check your speed? If they get the same, it will rule out your PC as the problem. The fault will either lie with your router or the exchange equipment. If this is the case you could ask Sky if they can change your connection in the exchange and/or swap out your router.

      It is always worthwhile uninstalling the network adapter and reinstalling it with the latest drivers from the manufacturer. Have you had your network drivers updated by MS recently? I had mine done some time ago and it knocked the stuffing out of my connection, I had to uninstall and put back the manufacturers drivers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Antichrist84's Avatar
      Antichrist84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01224
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky broadband slowed down alot

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Do you have a friend with a laptop who could come in and check your speed? If they get the same, it will rule out your PC as the problem. The fault will either lie with your router or the exchange equipment. If this is the case you could ask Sky if they can change your connection in the exchange and/or swap out your router.

      It is always worthwhile uninstalling the network adapter and reinstalling it with the latest drivers from the manufacturer. Have you had your network drivers updated by MS recently? I had mine done some time ago and it knocked the stuffing out of my connection, I had to uninstall and put back the manufacturers drivers.
      Thanks for the suggestions.
      I tried it on a mates laptop and same results, i suppose it could be a faulty router but i recieved another email from sky saying i need a filtered faceplate.
      I don't argree with this as things were working fine before and nothing has changed or been added, so i'm not wasting money on a new faceplate.
      Will try uninstalling and reinstalling driver and let you know.

      :EDIT: Nope nothings different, i found my old windows xp disc so i downgraded to that from windows 7 ultimate and i get 3mb max after doing about 6 tests.
      This really is bugging me.
      Last edited by Antichrist84; 17-10-10 at 05:27 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION