Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Websites timing out.

    This is a discussion on Websites timing out. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have having trouble loading web pages, some time out, some images on various sites will not load. I have ...

    1. #1
      OldCoals's Avatar
      OldCoals is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Websites timing out.

      i have having trouble loading web pages, some time out, some images on various sites will not load.

      I have tried speed test but i get the maximum throughput, downloads also max out my connection.

      It appears to be a DNS problem, can I change the DNS servers on the router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      Not on the router but on the PC - try using OpenDNS
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      OldCoals's Avatar
      OldCoals is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Not on the router but on the PC - try using OpenDNS
      I have a small Windows domain at home setting the DNS servers manually to the Open DNS servers isn't practical.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      Then you'd need to use a non-Sky router as it's locked out the Sky FW
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      OldCoals's Avatar
      OldCoals is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      I have tried but the username and password i extracted didn't work!

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      What Sky router have you got? Unless it's a D-Link the site works fine so it's likely to be user error
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      OldCoals's Avatar
      OldCoals is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      What Sky router have you got? Unless it's a D-Link the site works fine so it's likely to be user error
      I have the Grey/Black Netgear DG934.

      Do you enter the MAC address with or without colons, do you also have to spoof the MAC address?

      I take it this site still "works" and generates the correct details?

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      No colons, just make sure you use the right MAC address. And no spoofing required

      That site is fine, copy/paste into the new router so you're sure you've not a mistake (0 instead of an O for example)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      OldCoals's Avatar
      OldCoals is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      Thanks for your help, my own router now works.

      What are the chances of Sky kicking up a fuss !?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Websites timing out.

      Shouldn't do, so long as you don't make it glaringly obvious by telling them you're using a non-Sky router
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION