Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky broadband probs

    This is a discussion on Sky broadband probs within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all having a bit of a problem with my connection its been re syncing since the 6th october i ...

    1. #1
      ah1604's Avatar
      ah1604 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Fallin
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Sky broadband probs

      Hi all having a bit of a problem with my connection its been re syncing since the 6th
      october
      i phoned cst the told me i had lots of errors on my line so they arranged for a bt openreach visit they came today and after doing there thing they told me the line was not the problem and nor was the exchange still having the same problems can anyone go over these stats and pinpoint the problem

      i use a filtered faceplate if that helps

      adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 151 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2214 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.0 1.0
      Attn(dB): 62.5 34.7
      Pwr(dBm): 13.5 11.4
      Max(Kbps): 2060 148
      Rate (Kbps): 2214 151
      G.dmt framing
      K: 127(0) 17
      R: 10 10
      S: 1 2
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 30 13
      B: 126 16
      M: 1 2
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 10
      S: 1.8205 6.7692
      L: 602 52
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 209715 214815
      SFErr: 18 232
      RS: 7549758 2027856
      RSCorr: 1499 279479
      RSUnCorr: 151 0

      HEC: 18 6021
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 17951083 10369229
      Data Cells: 2233412 866408
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 340097

      ES: 14 106
      SES: 0 33
      UAS: 18 2534
      AS: 3437

      INP: 1.06 3.07
      PER: 16.38 16.07
      delay: 7.28 6.76
      OR: 17.57 9.45

      Bitswap: 308 108

      Total time = 57 min 52 sec
      SF = 209715
      CRC = 18
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      Latest 1 day time = 57 min 52 sec
      SF = 209715
      CRC = 18
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 52 sec
      SF = 47134
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54908
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54970
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52703
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband probs

      CRCs aren't exactly excessive for the uptime there. However, if the line is dropping sync and all the basics have been carried out (trying the test socket behind the filtered faceplate, using no extension cables to the router) and Openreach found no fault, then do you have another router handy? It's likely that it is the router at fault if it's a ~3-4 year old phase 1 netgear you have, which I assume so if you've thrown up those detailed stats.

    4. #3
      ah1604's Avatar
      ah1604 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Fallin
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband probs

      Thanks for quick reply tried everything so will try a new router hopefully it does the trick

      when getting my gaming profile reset again will DLM commence on my line again??

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband probs

      Changing to the gaming profile doesnt restart dlm.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      zimmer's Avatar
      zimmer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01229
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Sky broadband probs

      I called support over my drop from 16mb to 11mb during Dlm, this got sorted fast but they found an issue where im getting errors on the line. I am in the test socket allready so im guessing its router/bt at fault, if its bt that needs to be called can they charge even tho its no fualt of my wiring. in a grey area.

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband probs

      Quote Originally Posted by zimmer View Post
      I called support over my drop from 16mb to 11mb during Dlm, this got sorted fast but they found an issue where im getting errors on the line. I am in the test socket allready so im guessing its router/bt at fault, if its bt that needs to be called can they charge even tho its no fualt of my wiring. in a grey area.
      As long as you've done everything you can; test socket, swapped filter, no extensions and confirmed you have no pstn noise/issue then you won't be charged. It depends whether the line test fails or passes. If it fails, then straight to an engineer. If it passes, it depends whether they want to book a broadband engineer or a replacement router.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband probs

      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 151 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2214 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      This seems to show you are on ADSL2+. Asking Sky to swap you to G.DMT may give an improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION