Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    keep getting d/c

    This is a discussion on keep getting d/c within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok so i have opened the socket with the capacitor n there r 2 wires. 1 jus has a lil ...

    1. #11
      firoz_2007's Avatar
      firoz_2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: keep getting d/c

      ok so i have opened the socket with the capacitor n there r 2 wires. 1 jus has a lil blue wire connected n the other has blue n red. so i m guessing i need to disconnect the 1 tht jus has the blue connected on its own? also the green is not connected for either is tht fine?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      firoz_2007's Avatar
      firoz_2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: keep getting d/c

      hey i followed 1 of the wire n tht was going to the second socket so i took those wires out n connected the router again the problem still exists. the noise margin keeps increasing every few hours or minutes.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: keep getting d/c

      You might find that the second wire going to your extension is connected to one of the wires before it is connected to the terminal. 2 wires would have to be connected for the phone to work.

      The incoming wires should be connected to the number 2 and 5 terminals only. It looks like you have a 4 core drop cable with all the wires solid colours. The cable going to your extension will be twisted pair with 4 or 6 wires with each pair being colour with a white stripe and white with a colour stripe. The incoming cable usually has Orange, White, Green and Black wires, with the Orange and White used as the carriers, but this is not always the case. What you have to do is find the incoming cable, then the individual carrier wires and make sure that these and these only are connected to the 2 and 5 terminals of the faceplate. It does not matter which way round the wires are connected. Do this and post your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      firoz_2007 (15-10-10)

    6. #14
      firoz_2007's Avatar
      firoz_2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: keep getting d/c

      ye 1 of the cable had an orange wire but tht cable was leading to the extension. i disconnected everything n jus connected the blues of the other cable to 2 and 5 terminal. i tested the extension n there was no dial tone. the main is working but the problem still exists. the stats rite now r fine


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10333 kbps 506 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32 db 17 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 6 db


      but this changes to the 1 posted earlier everytime it disconnects. i have never had this problem with my internet. i think there might be a problem with my line externally but sky keeps telling me that my line is fine. i am very disappointed with their service coz they started billing me sky tv equipment insurance n 1s i cancelled it this happens. even my tv stopped working n when i called them they said there is sum problem internally n for them to fix it i need insurance or to buy a new sky box. n as soon as i said i m leaving the tv started working. either its pure coincidence or sky is taking me for a fool. oh n i never asked for insurance in the 1st place n didnt have it until the last 2 months when i received a call from some1 saying they gonna update my price n give me a discount so i said ok. he asked me for my details 2 which i told him tht sky already has them. then he said its for confirmation so i gave it n then i see a 13 being taken out for 2 months until i cancld the direct debit from my bank.

      n e wayz this has nothing to do with the problem unless this is the reason why my services are acting up.

    7. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: keep getting d/c

      It looks like you were taken in by one of the many scam Sky Protection plans. The only plan approved by Sky is Sky Protect, which would not cost you 13 a month. - Sky Protect - The only warranty protection plan for Sky, recommended by Sky

      The only problem with your stats is the low upload speed and noise margin. This can cause a drop just as easily as poor download figures. I would recommend you buy a good quality filter, something like this - XF-1e - Professional Microfilter - adslnation.com The filters supplied by Sky are not always good quality and can cause problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #16
      firoz_2007's Avatar
      firoz_2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: keep getting d/c

      ok i m going to buy the filter but would that resolve the problem. or do you think its an internal or external problem.

    9. #17
      firoz_2007's Avatar
      firoz_2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: keep getting d/c

      i have connected the extension back on again. gonna monitor it for a few days to see if there r any drops. i did notice that when i connected the router to the main through a filter and the phone to the extension without a filter the noise on the phone and the noise margin was really high. not sure if that is usual or not. for now the router and phone are connected to the extension through the filter. gonna order the filter "isitme" suggested tomorrow. hopefully things should stay stable. jus want to say thanks to all you guys for the help and support. will keep you updated of any change.

      thanks again.

      here r the stats for now:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10333 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 13 db

    10. #18
      firoz_2007's Avatar
      firoz_2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: keep getting d/c

      the issue stills exists was playing cod and just had a drop.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION