Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31

    Help Using RouterStats Lite

    This is a discussion on Help Using RouterStats Lite within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi There I joined sky about 3 weeks ago and keep getting the odd disconnection problem, the router light turns ...

    1. #1
      peter7769's Avatar
      peter7769 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Help Using RouterStats Lite

      Hi There

      I joined sky about 3 weeks ago and keep getting the odd disconnection problem, the router light turns orange and after a minute or so it comes back to life.

      I thought i would run a test and see how often this is happening when im not around, I've installed Routerstats lite but i cant seem to get it working, and also does it have to be run on a wired or wireless connection?

      i know the router is a Dlink router but not sure on the model, I've tried all the ones listed but it just keeps saying that its not responding??

      Thanks

      Pete


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      Can't really help, Mr Lowen the author has several D-Link routers listed. Why not get in touch with him?
      PS, If you post your router statistics it might give a clue as to whats going on.


    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      and also does it have to be run on a wired or wireless connection?
      It will run on either, but it will not distinguish between a wireless or internet drop out, so it is always better running it on a wired connection.

      Have you tried it with the 2640B, which is supposed to be the nearest equivalent.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      peter7769's Avatar
      peter7769 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      Thanks All, i have found out that the router is a Dlink 2640S, so perhaps i will get in touch with Mr Lowen and see if he can help.

      Keep you posted.

      Pete

    6. #5
      peter7769's Avatar
      peter7769 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      Hi Again
      Got an e-mail back from Mr Owen, he will have to wait until someone sends him the necessary data before he can add the router to the list, so guess i'm out of luck for the time being.

      Pete


      P.s i have included my stats just for you to have a look at,

      Thanks again

      Pete
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Help Using RouterStats Lite-router-1.jpg   Help Using RouterStats Lite-router-2.jpg  

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      Quote Originally Posted by peter7769 View Post
      Hi Again
      Got an e-mail back from Mr Owen, he will have to wait until someone sends him the necessary data before he can add the router to the list, so guess i'm out of luck for the time being.

      Pete
      What information does he require?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      peter7769's Avatar
      peter7769 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      What information does he require?
      No idea, i just got this back......

      Hi Pete,

      I rely on other people to send me the relevant data - as soon as someone works it out, I can add it to RouterStats-Lite. One of the other DLink options may work.

      It may or may not work anyway with RouterStats (main), which is designed primarily for the Netgear series.

      John

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      According to his site, this is the information he needs -
      The information I need is:


      • Make and Model of the router
      • The Default IP address (eg http://192.168.0.1)
      • The DEFAULT Username and Password
      • The full URL to the page (or separate Frame) which displays the Noise Margin and Speed.
        Please note that this URL must be to a simple, separate "stand-alone" page containing the SNR and Connection Speed. (More info.)
      • A text copy of the source of that page (complete with all the HTML code tags and other gobbledegook). It seems, from experience, that it's better if you can email the file as an email attachment rather than incorporating it into the body of the email. I suspect some email programs can upset the formatting of the file when it's included in the body.
      Maybe someone would be good enough to send him the information, The link to send it to can be found on this page - Internet Software

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      peter7769's Avatar
      peter7769 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      Hi
      I have sent him the info he is after, hopefully i got it all ok.

      Pete

    11. #10
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Help Using RouterStats Lite

      Are your router statistics from the test socket?
      Looks like you have some noise on your line.


     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION