Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Filtered faceplate/test socket question

    This is a discussion on Filtered faceplate/test socket question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All Just had sky broadband installed, and have been playing around with it the last few days. We have ...

    1. #1
      M9216's Avatar
      M9216 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Filtered faceplate/test socket question

      Hi All

      Just had sky broadband installed, and have been playing around with it the last few days. We have moved into a fairly large house, with multiple extensions, and a master socket in an upstairs bedroom - great !

      I have also been speaking to several engineers at Sky CS, and we have found the following things out :

      1 . On an extension socket in the living room, I get 2.5mb

      2 . On the master socket I get 2.0mb

      3 . On the test socket I get 5.75mb

      Obviously with the router plugged into the test socket, the phones dont work elsewhere in the house.

      What is the best solution to allow the other extensions around the house to work, but also to allow the router to be plugged into the test socket , as it were . An I-plate ? or other type of adaptor ? Obviously I want to try and keep as much of the 5.7mb from the test plate that I can.

      I have done a little reading, and think that I need to have a filtered faceplate, but just wondering what the best type to get is ?

      Any help gratefully appreciated

      R

      Mehul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Filtered faceplate/test socket question

      A filter faceplate is the answer, anyone will do, their performance is about equal.

    4. #3
      M9216's Avatar
      M9216 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Filtered faceplate/test socket question

      So once I have fitted the filtered plate, all the other extensions in the house, all the other extensions in the house will work ?

      R

      Mehul

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Filtered faceplate/test socket question

      Quote Originally Posted by M9216 View Post
      So once I have fitted the filtered plate, all the other extensions in the house, all the other extensions in the house will work ?
      Yes.

      Filtered plates splits the ADSL and Voice circuits at the faceplate - you have two sockets one of which is ADSL the other voice and internally your extensions run off the voice side of the split. I use one and my speed doubled.

      I use a http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop...ProductID=3306

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Filtered faceplate/test socket question

      Quote Originally Posted by M9216 View Post
      So once I have fitted the filtered plate, all the other extensions in the house, all the other extensions in the house will work ?

      R

      Mehul
      Note if you connect all your extensions to the filtered connections then the router will only work in the ADSL socket on the front of the faceplate. If you need to have the router on an extension you need to connect that extension to the unfiltered connections-that extension will still require a filter. If possible it is best to run a dedicated ADSL extension, the BT NTE2000 extension kit is ideal for this.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Filtered faceplate/test socket question

      A simple trick for now is to fit your ADSL filter into the TEST socket, plug the router into the router side ans then fit the original faceplateinto the phone side, this will then allow all the sockets to work in the house but also filter out the broadband so it is not dragged down by the internal wiring.

      Then just fit the filtered faceplate when you get it.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION