Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Speed has reduced

    This is a discussion on Speed has reduced within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, New here and trying to resolve my frustrating issues. I have been on Sky broadband for about 2 ...

    1. #1
      thewillski's Avatar
      thewillski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed has reduced

      Hi all,

      New here and trying to resolve my frustrating issues. I have been on Sky broadband for about 2 years now. About 2 months ago, my speed dropped from always being between 4 and 5 Mbps download to being under 1 Mbps.

      I have tried swapping out cables and filters. The router is in the main master socket and still no joy.

      Please see stats below - any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated


      Sagem F@ST 2504 [Sky Firmware]

      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed511 kbps606 kbps
      Line Attenuation40.0 db21.7 db
      Noise Margin12.2 db17.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      Join the club, for the last 3-3.5 years we've had a rock steady 3,3.5 meg yet since last weekend ours has suddenly reduced to 2meg? For some reason they capped us and can't tell us why!
      http://www.speedtest.net/



      Users armed with a little knowledge are dangerous things!
      Step away from the keyboard slowly............your right to use the internet has been revoked!
      You have a 'PEBKAC' problem

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      There appears to be a lot of this going on, speeds being capped for no apparent reason. I think it is to do with the arrival of VOD, and Sky are having a good look at line errors.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      There is something more than capping wrong with your connection and if you have only been getting 4-5Mb it has been for a while. With your attenuation you should be getting 9-10Mbs.

      When you say you are plugged into the main master socket, do you mean the Test socket? If no, try plugging it in there and take your stats, using only the filter and ADSL cable supplied by Sky.
      Click the red Test socket link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      thewillski's Avatar
      thewillski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      Sorry for the lack of reply for a few days as I have been away.

      However, I am connected to the master socket but it does not have a test socket. It is an old style master with capacitors etc on the back but no test socket.

      I have been on to sky this evening and within seconds they managed to get it back up to 2Mbps.

      I did state it used to be 4 -5 Mbps and the helpful chap wanted me to change the filter again and said he would call back in 20 minutes. That was 2 hours ago and no call so guess I will have to ring again.

      I would image the house wiring is in a mess as it all looks a bit DIY. I am tempted to contact BT to have a look but dont want to pay a large call out fee.

      I will monitor the speed but cannot understand how I have been capped from circa 4 - 5 Mps down to under 500k. Accepting that the internal wiring might not be great, this was stable at these speeds with no disconnects for about 18 months before this inteference. It is irritating and frustrating to say the least

      Anyway, thank you to all for your time and help to date.

      Current stats below:

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 1:59:43
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 76000 124476 0 0 0 1:57:52
      LAN 15152 9387 0 0 0 1:59:43
      WLAN 196636 137819 0 0 0 1:59:18
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 db 22.5 db
      Noise Margin 18.8 db 29.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      With your noise margin you could easily double your speed.

      The first thing to do is to remove the faceplate of the socket and pull out any wires in terminal 3, you don't need them and you could see a big improvement. Then ring Sky again and get the line manually configured.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      You really need to call back and get someone who can configure your line properly. All they have done is move you from ADSL2+ to G.DMT, which should not be necessary on a line of your length.

      Your internal wiring could be causing problems, so it would be better if you fitted and used an NTE5 socket with a filtered faceplate. This is fairly easily done and would probably give you the 9-10 Mb you should have had in the first place.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      thewillski's Avatar
      thewillski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      Looks like I spoke too soon!

      Restarted and got the same up and down again

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 0:09:45

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4058 5114 0 0 0 0:08:27
      LAN 2080 619 0 518 148 0:09:45
      WLAN 9782 8215 0 608 376 0:09:19
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 10.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)


      Thanks again for the replies. Not sure I can change the socket as I am connected to the master but it is an old style master socket with no test socket. Therefore I dont believe I am allowed to disconnect the faceplate?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      Not sure I can change the socket as I am connected to the master but it is an old style master socket with no test socket. Therefore I dont believe I am allowed to disconnect the faceplate?
      It is against BT's regulations, but many do it. It is fairly easy to do and as long as you use quality parts, you will not have a problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      thewillski (19-10-10)

    12. #10
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Speed has reduced

      Until you can isolate the internal wiring theres no way of telling whether this is your own wiring or a problem with BT's part of the line.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION