Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    ADSL Link Down

    This is a discussion on ADSL Link Down within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've just had Sky Broadband fitted on Thursday. I moved in on Friday and my connection was really slow ...

    1. #1
      Corky's Avatar
      Corky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151208
      Broadband ISP: Sky World 3D, Sky Talk & Unlimited Broadband
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL Link Down

      Hi,

      I've just had Sky Broadband fitted on Thursday. I moved in on Friday and my connection was really slow (line training I suppose), yesterday morning we had a power cut and since then my router says ADSL Link Down.

      Obviously I can't access my computer to get any real logs etc but does anyone have any ideas? Power supply or phone line affected by the power cut? My phone is working fine by the way.

      Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      Is the power still down?

    4. #3
      Corky's Avatar
      Corky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151208
      Broadband ISP: Sky World 3D, Sky Talk & Unlimited Broadband
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      Sorry, I didn't mention the power came straight back on! My router is lit up like this permanently...



      Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      It doesn't seem to be plugged into the phone socket behind.

      Remember to plug it in via an ADSL filter, directly into the TEST socket would be best to try it.

    6. #5
      Corky's Avatar
      Corky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151208
      Broadband ISP: Sky World 3D, Sky Talk & Unlimited Broadband
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      I unplugged it earlier to see if it would help if I unplugged it for a bit but it hasn't helped it. It's plugged back in now and its the same.

      I only have 1 phone socket in the house so the modem is plugged into the filter which is plugged into the socket.

      I've had the faceplate off the socket and plugged the filter in direct but It's still the same

      Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk

    7. #6
      Corky's Avatar
      Corky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151208
      Broadband ISP: Sky World 3D, Sky Talk & Unlimited Broadband
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      Sods law, i've debated posting since yesterday morning, i do and now its connected



      Code:
      ADSL Link      Downstream      Upstream
      Connection Speed     160 kbps    736 kbps
      Line Attenuation     56.5db     31.5db
      Noise Margin     8.3db     8.0db
      Hopefully that improves!

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      Looks like a line fault.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      With power cuts you often get a power surge before it goes down. There is a good chance it has effected either the router or its PSU. If you have another 12v PSU which will fit, try it and see if there is any difference. Either way call Sky, they will have to get the line fixed or replace the router.

      If you have another router, plug that in and take the stats. It will not connect to the internet unless it is a Sky one, but it should give the figures showing a connection to the exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Corky's Avatar
      Corky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151208
      Broadband ISP: Sky World 3D, Sky Talk & Unlimited Broadband
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      So...

      My connection hasn't dropped since i posted at the weekend. My connection went up to 1500kbps, now it is down to the below.

      Code:
      ADSL Link      Downstream      Upstream
      Connection Speed     981 kbps    605 kbps
      Line Attenuation     59.5db     34.9db
      Noise Margin     6.4db     14.0db
      The noise changes quite dramatically all the time!

      Hope it improves. What speed should i expect? I'm new to ADSL

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL Link Down

      As advised, you have a line fault the noise margin should only vary by a db or two.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION