Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    WTF..? Advice please...

    This is a discussion on WTF..? Advice please... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've just moved into an apartment and taken out a Sky package of TV, HD, Skytalk and Broadband and ...

    1. #1
      Batesyboy's Avatar
      Batesyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      WTF..? Advice please...

      Hi,

      I've just moved into an apartment and taken out a Sky package of TV, HD, Skytalk and Broadband and was informed I would get a speed of at least 8Mb and upto 20Mb.

      Got the TV sorted and yesterday a BT Openreach engineer connected the phoneline.

      I've just called Sky to ask when my router is going to be delivered and now they are saying my line will only support a 512kps connection..!

      They are saying they've tested the line and that's all it will support.

      What do I do..?

      Call Openreach to see what my options are..?

      I'm furious because I feel like I've been conned a little..!

      I wouldn't have gone for Skytalk otherwise, just gone BT for phone and Internet.

      My postcode is LE17 4AZ.

      Thanks
      - Andy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: WTF..? Advice please...

      Can you post the stats from your router, preferably both from the master and the test socket.
      Sky User - How to test your Master Socket
      If youve only just been connected then you will still be on dlm and things may improve.
      The stats will give us a better idea.


    4. #3
      Batesyboy's Avatar
      Batesyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      WTF..? Advice please...

      I've not even had my router delivered yet..! I called to ask when it would be and that's when they said I'd only get a 0.5Mb link.

      Should I just try it and see..? I've never heard anyone getting such a low connection especially as I'm only about 600m from the exchange..!

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: WTF..? Advice please...

      I would try it and see, you will have a cooling off period which I think is 8 days if things arnt as you like.
      If you are 600m from the exchange ( even tho the line length can be a lot more ) then you should definetely see much more than 1/2 meg. You would need a line length of @ 6km for it to be that bad.


    6. #5
      Batesyboy's Avatar
      Batesyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      WTF..? Advice please...

      That's what I thought... seems ridiculous in this day and age..!

      I did a search and my neighbours seem to be getting reasonable speeds...

    7. #6
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: WTF..? Advice please...

      Batesyboy
      Hi I don`t think you will have any problems on LLU your post code BT Wholesale : ADSL Availibility Checker shows 7.5mbs to a possible 15mb do you know what your exchange is.

    8. #7
      Batesyboy's Avatar
      Batesyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WTF..? Advice please...

      Hi Steve,

      I put my number in the checker and this is the response:

      For Telephone Number 01455xxxxxx on Exchange LUTTERWORTH

      Your exchange is ADSL enabled, and our initial test on your line indicates that your line should be able to have an ADSL broadband service that provides a fixed line speed up to 2Mbps.

      Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL Max broadband line speed of 7.5Mbps.

      Your exchange is planned to have ADSL2+ by 30th April 2011. Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL2+ broadband line speed of 15Mbps. Our test also indicates that your line could support an estimated ADSL 2+ Annex-M broadband upstream line speed of 750Kbps and downstream line speed of 6.5Mbps.

      The actual stable line speed supportable will be determined during the first 10 days of use. This speed may change over time, to ensure line stability is maintained.

      If you decide to place an order, a further test will be performed to confirm if your line is suitable for the service you wish to purchase.

      Thank you for your interest.

      Please note that dates and exchanges are indicative and subject to change.

      Please note that postcode and address check results are indicative only. Most accurate results can be obtained from a telephone number check.


      What do you think I should do..? Can I get the router and see if I get upto 7.5Mb..?

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: WTF..? Advice please...

      You can put any router on the line (if the BB is active) and get its basic connection stats...otherwise without being live you won't know until you get it. Chances are Sky have been a bit silly and it's likely that you'll get a good speed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Batesyboy's Avatar
      Batesyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WTF..? Advice please...

      Yeah good idea. I've got an old WRT54G somewhere, have to dig it out and have a go.

      Thanks for the advice

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: WTF..? Advice please...

      Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL2+ broadband line speed of 15Mbps. Our test also indicates that your line could support an estimated ADSL 2+ Annex-M broadband upstream line speed of 750Kbps and downstream line speed of 6.5Mbps.
      I find this quite confusing Annex M allows the frequency to be split differently to allow extra upstream speed at the expence of downstream speed. If it is capable of 15Mb downstream with Annex A, the commonly used one, it would support at least 1 Mb upstream. I think this is the figure you should be looking at as Sky do not use Annex M.

      A drop of 8.5Mb for no gain seems ridiculous.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION