Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Moving From Sky BB Help

    This is a discussion on Moving From Sky BB Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Folks Ok in a nutshell I would like to change my broadband and phone package. I'm currently with sky ...

    1. #1
      coolertech's Avatar
      coolertech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving From Sky BB Help

      Hi Folks

      Ok in a nutshell I would like to change my broadband and phone package.

      I'm currently with sky for everything, I have sky talk with the max call package and unlimited broadband.

      Now I got all my sky tv, phone and bb installed in Jan 2009, in Dec 2009 I upgraded to HD they guy said my 12 month sub would start again but I wasn't sure if this was just for the tv or everything.

      Granted I would like to keep my Sky HD sub and just change the phone and bb.

      Does anyone know if doing the upgrade to HD would of locked my phone and bb sub until dec 2010?.

      I'm looking on moving over to Bethere (my exchange says it supports be) but when I check on the bethere website it says it's unable to check for some reason, wondering if it's because its a sky line and not BT??
      I originally had no phone line and sky installed it with a BT Openworld engineer when I took out all my sky package in Jan 2009.

      If anyone could shed some light that would be great,

      Cheers
      Last edited by coolertech; 30-09-10 at 12:45 AM. Reason: Spelling


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      Your phone and BB contract will not be affected by your HD upgrade. If your BB started in Jan 2009 and you haven't upgraded it seperately, your contract should now be finished.

    4. #3
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      coolertech
      HI I am just wondering are you on Sky Max. The Unlimited package or connect which some times is referred to as Sky Max. Which is a BT re-badged Max product.

    5. #4
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      coolertech
      HI I am just wondering are you on Sky Max. The Unlimited package or connect which some times is referred to as Sky Max. Which is a BT re-badged Max product.
      I'm not sure what the point of your question is? I thought the OP was asking about his contract period as he thought he may be tied to his BB till December?

    6. #5
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      Sanity
      Hi if or when coolertech moves to another ISP it would be a lot easier if they are on the connect package. If on LLU the amount of SkyUser Members found it difficult to move to a new ISP. Here is an example If I leave Sky I need a new telephone line and more on Sky Talk Info then the broadband HELP - sky problem and more on Sky Broadband

      I would like to change my broadband and phone package.
      That`s what I was wondering about.
      I'm looking on moving over to Bethere (my exchange says it supports be) but when I check on the bethere website it says it's unable to check for some reason, wondering if it's because its a sky line and not BT??
      I originally had no phone line and sky installed it with a BT Openworld engineer when I took out all my sky package in Jan 2009.

    7. #6
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      Its all BT lines. It won't make any difference tbh. The only company that there might be an issue with is Talk Talk.

    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      Hi If coolertech is on Sky Voice & Broadband Network (SVBN) that`s a different matter SkyUser Members Complaining about Sky changing Telephone numbers and disconnecting Broadband so have to wait for a new number that has been happening when someone moves to another ISP. I am not saying it is happening to everyone and hopefully it will not happen to coolertech . It might be the new SVBN that is causing issues, Only time will tell

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Sanity View Post
      Its all BT lines. It won't make any difference tbh. The only company that there might be an issue with is Talk Talk.
      Well that's not right!!!

      As stated, the OP has Sky line rental and so if they are on an LLU product and have been moved across to the SBVN network, moving suppliers is a bitch. The line will have to be ceased and a new line reprovisioned by BT, there is likely to be a 20 day downtime whislt this happens and also their number may have to be changed.

      No MAC code will be issued or required if this is the case because Be won't be able to just do a standard migration.

    10. #9
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Well that's not right!!!

      As stated, the OP has Sky line rental and so if they are on an LLU product and have been moved across to the SBVN network, moving suppliers is a bitch. The line will have to be ceased and a new line reprovisioned by BT, there is likely to be a 20 day downtime whislt this happens and also their number may have to be changed.

      No MAC code will be issued or required if this is the case because Be won't be able to just do a standard migration.
      Well the people who get through to me when their phone and BB has been ceased way before it should have been, be it SVBN or otherwise, must just go to show its not always as hard as that.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving From Sky BB Help

      Ceasing is not the problem, getting connected to someone else is. There are various instances on the forum where users have been bounced back and forward between BT and Sky after ceasing an LLU connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION