Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    New Router?

    This is a discussion on New Router? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had my sky router (D834G) for the past 3.5 years now. I've noticed that the speed seems to be ...

    1. #1
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Router?

      I've had my sky router (D834G) for the past 3.5 years now.

      I've noticed that the speed seems to be dropping over the past few months.

      Initially I used to get 15MB, then went to 14, and then after (last year) it switched to LLU, it went to 12, then most recently to 11. I tried resyncing and got 10MB and now just under 11MB.

      Of course, ive changed the filters, makes no difference and its always connected to the test socket (behind the faceplate)

      I rang sky (again) and they did some tests and said there seems to be no problem with the exchange/line and that I am close to the exchange and should be getting around 14MB (ok, 13MB as a precaution).

      She said ive had the router for 3.5 years, that it maybe time for a change..... so she is sending me one and to use that.

      is it really necessary? I mean, will it make a difference?

      I also asked about the optic fibre (and that i had signed up in May and heard nothing) - she said it is being rolled out and in my area (Reading), should be in December.

      so yes, now sky are properly informing people about fibre optic BB.


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      so yes, now sky are properly informing people about fibre optic BB.
      I wouldn't count on it until a letter or email is sent giving you the details. I am not saying the agent you spoke to was lying, but I would take it with a pinch of salt.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      Understood.

      but anyway going back to my original problem - what does the new router look like? is it better? Will it "fix" the problem im having?


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      The version 2 and 3 routers all look the same. They are enclosed in Sky's 'corporate look' grey/black box, vaguely similar to the HD box.

      No one knows if there will be any improvement, if it is your existing router that is failing then it will. If it is a problem with your line/exchange it will make no difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      Looks the same as the others - black box with internal aerial and 4 Ethernet ports on the back
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      Thanks

      doesnt make sense though, the router i have seems "fine" but we will see I guess


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      You've obviously checked the connection in the test socket, yeah?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      yup. its always been connected to the test/master socket (behind the faceplate)


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!

    10. #9
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      gimme a new router any day though not a sky one cause there stupid t&c

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New Router?

      If the connection/speed is dropping and you've confirmed it's the same in the test socket with a swapped filter, confirmed there are no landline issues/noise and using no extension cables, and that the line test is passing then it's likely the router and/or adsl cable. Swap over all the new equipment you receive and check if things improve.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION