Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    serious internet problem

    This is a discussion on serious internet problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi there first of all i know nothing about how internet works, its my mum who runs it and she ...

    1. #1
      clueless1's Avatar
      clueless1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      serious internet problem

      hi there

      first of all i know nothing about how internet works, its my mum who runs it and she knows nothing

      what i do know is that our internet is so slow its at dial up speeds i think

      connection

      384/582
      its really that bad cant use youtube videos at all

      i know that we swapped packages qa while ago to i believe unlimited one of recommendations is to leave on for a certain period but was turned off by mistake
      mum also turns it off each evening wold this be a problem

      also had same router for few years now not sure model but it is white if that helps at all

      just wondering whats wrong and what can be done

      got little money so cant afford to change it or improve it

      many thanks

      ps know nothing so serious computer speak will fly over me


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: serious internet problem

      clueless1
      Hi the first thing that you can do is post How to get your router statistics Just copy and paste to your next post. Also if you can do a How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket all the instructions are on the links the second link master socket. The test socket is behind the faceplate.

    4. #3
      clueless1's Avatar
      clueless1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: serious internet problem

      error
      Last edited by clueless1; 23-09-10 at 01:43 AM. Reason: error

    5. #4
      clueless1's Avatar
      clueless1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: serious internet problem

      as can see got big problem

    6. #5
      clueless1's Avatar
      clueless1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: serious internet problem

      System Up Time 00:41:54
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 10617 11958 0 1213 3884 00:41:17
      LAN 10M/100M 370 0 0 43 0 00:41:52
      WLAN 11M/54M 12808 12416 0 4027 1316 00:41:44

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 582 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 32.2 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 10.5 db

    7. #6
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

    8. #7
      clueless1's Avatar
      clueless1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: serious internet problem

      hi i see no system time up?

    9. #8
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: serious internet problem

      clueless1
      Hi if you have a look at my post it has changed

    10. #9
      clueless1's Avatar
      clueless1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: serious internet problem

      unable to do the master thing im afraid dont own it so dont have permission

      had internet for couple years i think but changed packages as far as i am aware

    11. #10
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: serious internet problem

      clueless1
      Hi the reason for the master socket test is to see if its an internal wiring issues.
      Do you have any problems with the phone. when you use the phone is there any Noise on the line. Is the filter plugged into the phone socket then the phone
      Do you have any extensions.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION